Kickstarter: Day 5

11 Mar

Well, I’m about five days into my Kickstarter fundraiser for a new graphic novel of mine, Don Giovanni.

I thought I’d share with you all here my thoughts so far.  A bit about what I’ve learned, how it’s going and so-forth.  I figured if anything maybe someone wanting to do a Kickstarter might learn a thing or two.  And hey – maybe I’ll learn a thing or two as well!

First off, the people that have funded it, shared it, posted about it, etc. so far – a big THANK YOU.  But, you know that I appreciate it already, so I’ll leave it at that for now.  You’ll be hearing thanks from me again, I’m sure.

One thing (any reader of mine here knows) about me is I’m totally honest.  So, I’m looking at this whole experience as honest as possible and with an open mind.

So, how is the funding so far?  Quite frankly, it has been – well – a bit lackluster.  There have been some sharing of it on Facebook from everywhere from the Cartoon Art Museum in San Francisco to my good friend Bearman.  Others have shared about it as well.  It’s got a lot of “likes” – but the funding isn’t quite building as much momentum as I would have hoped by this point.

This is where I scratch my head a bit and honestly try to look at it from an audience perspective.  “Is this something I would buy or support?”

You all know I’m super enthused about Don Giovanni.  I’ve mentioned it numerous times, I love the story, the characters and absolutely want to complete it.  I have the finished version in my head and it’s about 200 pages, full color and very entertaining.  However, after five days, I’m trying to figure out if there are enough people as enthusiastic as me and can see the big picture.  I have had a lot of good feedback about it, but not too sure yet what the real feelings toward it is from many.  After all, who can relate to Don Giovanni and Mozart?  BUT – this isn’t anything like an opera, so I was hoping that didn’t matter, but maybe it does.

I’ve sent out many press releases, contacted a ton of people and so-forth.  The support I have gotten already has been great and all but it’s just not really taking off like I see some Kickstarter projects do.

So, what is it?  I’m not sure.

Listen, a graphic novel is new to me.  I’m used to gag cartoons and MAD Magazine – so getting into this is new territory.  I just treat it like everything else I do.  If I like it and find it good – I’ll just keep my fingers crossed that others will also. Kind of like the way I cook a pizza.

It’s only five days in.  I figure by this point there’s either a big shift that can change and complete my goal of $17,500 to get it funded and completed.  At this point as well is when I think I really need to ask some questions.  Like, what do YOU think of it?  Do you think it’s worth the money?  Are the rewards good?  Is the concept bad?  My introduction video about it stinks?  Is it ME?  Please let me know!  I’d love some honest feedback.  Trust me – I can take it and won’t cry (too hard).

My main goal with it is to make it worth it to people.  I want people to want it.  The support that has come in has been fantastic and I hope it’s worth every penny.  I’ll keep on trying through this whole campaign to hit the goal.  It is early still, so we’ll see….

I can sum up the experience so far like this:  It’s a mix of placing a bet on a football game by taking the OVER and being a politician hoping for public support.

Check out Don Giovanni if you can.  I’d love to hear your feedback (as I mentioned).  I’ll keep you updated on here about how it’s going and if anything changes.  CLICK HERE to check it out.

 

 

Leave a comment