Books Solid

5 May

If you didn’t get a hint from the title, I’m referring to books today.  Yes, those paperbound, white paged things that people have been reading for centuries.

I love to read.  Really, I do.  I have a time and a place for it though.  For example, I’m not a morning reader.  For email, Facebook and things like that, of course I enjoy tuning into the online world and seeing what’s happening.  That’s usually my morning reading.  If I try reading a book or magazine though early in the day, I’ll zone out.  Quite possibly, I’ll fall asleep.

Guy Reading

Above:  No.  This is not me.

I like to read in the evenings.

Anyhow, I’m mentioning that because I thought the other day about how often I read and how many books I consume over time.

I think I’m a slow reader.

I say that, because I don’t get to inhale a lot of books like a lot of people I know.  Therefore, I think I’m a slow reader.  Or just an infrequent reader.  But…I do read a lot.

Okay, I’m bad at math so bear with me.

I average about one novel per month.  And that’s IF I’m lucky.  Sometimes it takes longer.  And, of course, it depends on the size of the book.  To put it in better perspective, the novel I just finished in a month was 500 pages.  But, many of the pages weren’t full of text and the font wasn’t itsy-bitsy.

Typically, I read about 15-30 minutes, 5 nights a week.

So, adding it all together, that’s about 12 novels a year – best case scenerio.

And if I live to, oh, let’s say 80, that’s 528 novels left (again, BEST case…well, unless I live much longer).  Which, if you think about it, isn’t a ton.

It got me thinking that I need to be pretty damn picky about what I read.  Life is short!  I’m thinking long term here.

Book Worm

I’m not going to name any names, but I read a really lousy novel a few months ago.  It kind of irritated – okay, it DID irritate me – because it was so bad.  And I mentioned it takes me a month or longer to read a novel.  So, at the end of it, I felt like I wasted a months worth of reading.  It was one of those things though where I kept thinking to myself It’s got to get better?  Right?  But no.  I didn’t.  The reviews on this particular book were good, too.  I think even my fingers felt cheated after exhausting energy turning those pages.

I’ve read several of the classics – supposedly “best” novels out there.  And a few I haven’t been impressed with.  Not quite sure how they became classics, but what do I know.  Again, I won’t name names (but you know who you are).

This discussion has been about novels.  It’s my preferred choice at the end of the day.  I also do read business books, self help books and things on self improvement.  I’ve also been quite a devoted fan of psychology books and once in awhile something superstitious.  These types of books though take me longer than a month to read and I get through parts of them when I can.  Usually Saturday afternoons or Sunday’s.

With my daughter, I’m – of course – reading to her as well some of the books for kiddos.  “Children’s books” they’re called (secretly though, I’m pretty certain most were made for adults).

And obviously, I read a lot of books on cartooning.  Along with comics I enjoy.  But that’s all at random.  Also it’s part of the job of being a cartoonist.

On another note, I feel like if I read much faster, I wouldn’t enjoy books as much either.

Jack Torrance copy

Above:  Now this guy knew how to write a good book.

Anyhow, I wanted to spark a discussion – if possible – about how many books YOU can read.  What can you get through?  In what amount of time?  Am I a slow reader?  Have you ever read a lousy book and feel like you wasted precious hours?  I’m curious on your thoughts.

With time as short as it is, my reading not maybe quite so fast, I’d like these books to be solid.

7 Responses to “Books Solid”

  1. lutheranworship May 5, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    I love reading and never read “enough”. There is so much that interests me and not nearly enough time to get it all in. Novels? Yes, I enjoy them but…

    • w101njf May 5, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

      I know. I hope to get to the point where I don’t have one side of my head saying, “You have too much to do to be reading.” I think it’s important to take time out to do so (and hopefully – it’s worth it).

  2. Kandias Overton May 6, 2016 at 1:56 am #

    I grew up in the southwest and have a great appreciation for British humor. As a result I just don’t get Garrison Kiellor. I hated Lake Wobegon Days. I was also disappointed with Frankenstein. It drug on and on.

    • w101njf May 6, 2016 at 7:34 am #

      It’s funny – I TOTALLY don’t get Garrison Kiellor’s humor on a Prairie Home Companion. However, sometimes I listen to it because I’m so curious WHY people laugh at the jokes and the appeal. I kind of grew up with that show on the air as well, so I guess there’s some appeal to it – even though I’m lost to what it’s about. I never read Frankenstein, but sounds like a real dragger….

  3. Bearman May 14, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    I don’t read a ton of books but when I do I read them very fast!!!!!!! Vacations I can usually get through 2-3

    • w101njf June 1, 2016 at 8:16 pm #

      Wow! How? I was on vacation and was lucky to get through one (and almost a half).

Leave a Reply

