Oh. It’s 2016…

1 Mar

Recently I’ve been thinking you know, I haven’t written a blog post recently.

So, today I typed in my web browser the address of this blog that you’re reading now.  To my surprise, the last time I wrote was 2015.  Last year (yikes).  Whoah…it’s been awhile.  What’s really upsetting is there has been a lot going on between the time I posted last and now.  Basically, I’ve left all of you in the dark for quite awhile on anything new.  I’m not quite sure how many of you are heartbroken about the fact that I haven’t posted lately, but I’ll try to change my vicious pattern of not posting.  Starting with this.

Where does one begin since I haven’t been writing?

I’ll start here: It’s been busy (obvious statement, I know).

As many of you know, I’m a new father, so I’ll write about that for today and get into other “busyness” in later blog posts.

Ella was born November 16th of last year.  Fatherhood has been good to me.  A great thing!  I know – I know…all new parents say that.  But, it is very true.

Starting off, for me, it was like this.  Let me attempt to use an analogy.

In the hospital room, it reminded me of waiting for a train.  Have you ever done that?  Waited for a train at a station on the platform?  I used to take Amtrak all the time.  I still would, but I don’t travel much.  Anyhow, I’m using this scenario because being in the delivery room did remind me of waiting for a passenger train.

The train station is typically quiet – especially if you’re traveling from a small town in the middle of night (which, for me was often leaving Hutchinson, Kansas, around 3 AM).  It’s silent.  Nothing happening.  And then, all of a sudden, you hear a horn in the distance.  Then, a light.  And all of a sudden, it gets louder and LOUDER.  Gates are flashing, going down.  There are people gathering around the platform.  Rumbling of a huge train coming in for a stop. A flurry of activity.

And then, as quickly as the activity began, it stops.  Becomes quiet again and you’re off on a comfortable ride.

The birth of my daughter in the delivery room reminded me of this.  Nothing happening at all, then signs of her coming.  Suddenly, people (nurses and a doctor) gather in the room and – BOOM – there she is!  Crying a little bit.  But, once all the activity settles down and it’s just us in the delivery room with a few members of the family, it’s quiet again.  She’s asleep and we’re off on a new journey.

FullSizeRender-8

What a great journey it’s been since November.  I’m savoring every moment.  Yeah, I’m excited for her to talk, learn to draw and hangout with me without having to bring along a burp cloth.  But, the way she is now I’m absorbing up and also realizing it won’t last so enjoy every progression, moment and time from here on out.  Again, I know it’s all been said before, but now I realize how true it all is.  I already feel like she’s growing up too fast and it’s been just over three months.  If she picks up a pen and starts cartooning within the next several days, I wouldn’t be too shocked.  (And then I’ll have to explain to her all the frustrations of being in the cartooning profession.)

12799221_10153394774944117_6913285986757378830_n

 

This ride is quite an exciting one.  And many stops along the way (especially to change poopy diapers).  I’m thrilled to be aboard.

I’ll leave you with that.  Just another brief “hello” from Ella and me.

I’ll try to write more soon.  For now though, that’s my latest update.

And now I can say I’ve finally written a blog post in 2016 (applause).

 

 

One Response to “Oh. It’s 2016…”

  1. Stormy15@twc.com March 1, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

    Great to see u back! Love your Ella!

    Sent from my iPad Claudia P. Hurd

    >

Leave a Reply

