Bottled-Up MAD and more

7 Aug

I know there are around a billion deserted-island-in-the-middle-of-the-ocean cartoons out there.  We’ve allbod150801 seen them.  And actually, I try to avoid creating anything based off that premise.  However, when an idea hits for one, I’ll do it.

And an idea hit me.  So I did it.

It’s funny how that theme is such a hot-topic for cartoons.

There really are a billion ideas for such a concept.  I mean, an island – in the middle of the ocean (with a palm tree, of course).  Comedy gold!  Right?  Eh, maybe….

Actually, I’m not sure why there aren’t MORE reoccurring themes like this in the cartoon universe.  The only other one I can think of are ones featuring Mr. Potato Head (and I’m proud to say, I believe I only created one cartoon in my lifetime featuring him) or Humpty Dumpty.  Seriously.  Just Google either of those topics and you’ll find tons.

bod150802AS for the next cartoon, the main character has been displayed probably more times than deserted island cartoons.

Many of you know that I occasionally get a cartoon or article in MAD Magazine.  So, when I created this one featuring Alfred, it was something right up my alley – something dumb!

With MAD I hope someday I can be one of the more regular “usual gang of idiots”.  It’s NOT easy writing for them.  I still do send my ideas in though on a regular basis in hopes of getting picked-up.  It’s not about the money, but the thrill of getting into MAD is still a major high.  It’s just fun to see my work amongst the rest of the stupidity in the issue.bod150803

It’s been hot as hell (if Hell is hot) around here (Dayton, Ohio).  That’s probably why I created this next cartoon.

If I had to guess, it’s not that original.  I actually created a similar concept a long time ago featuring snowmen in a car and one of them turned on the defrost.  However, since I couldn’t think of this being done before, I went ahead and created it.  And if anything, it will just make viewers hungry for ice cream.  Like me.  I’m hungry now.  For ice cream.

bod150804My cat actually DOES have insurance.

In fact, I believe she has better coverage than me.

When it comes to life insurance though, I don’t believe they offer that for our feline friends.  Curiosity is quite deadly.

Luckily, Tiger (my cat) lives indoors and can’t get in too much trouble.  I live on the 4th floor of an apartment building.  I just know that if she had the chance, she would totally jump out the window at the birds that hang outside (we have a screened in window – so there’s not a chance of this actually happening).

When I drew this next cartoon, it took me a few attempts.bod150805

Believe it or not, drawing checks WAS NOT easy.

I had an actual physical check as a reference.  There are a lot of little details in checks that I never realized until I featured a couple of them.

Plus, I was trying to make the details somewhat unique.  Like, you’ll notice the account number is the same on both.  And one is numbered just one about the other.  Does that make them family?  If so, it’s kinda a sick relationship….I guess.

Now onto Oz.

bod150806I changed the caption on this cartoon.

The first one said ‘Teenage Tin Man’.  When I thought about it though, isn’t there a transition between a teenager and a man?  So, I made it simply Tin Teenager.  I think it is better this way.

As for what those stains are, I have no clue.

Now onto the final cartoon of the week.

This was another awkward drawing for me.  I’ve always had a bod150807minor issue drawing silverware.  I’m not sure why.  I’m guessing it’s because in real life, silverware is so precise, straight and perfect.  My drawings are never straight-looking and always a bit wobbly.  So, that throws them off.  And I’m left never feeling happy about the way I drew it.

But, it is what it is.

I can say I’m very thrilled with how I drew than non-circular dinner plate.  Very professional.

That is all for this week!

More cartoons are available with my cartoon subscription.  Yes, YOU can get them everyday.  For free.  (Just send me some pizza coupons on occasion.)  CLICK HERE

 

Leave a Reply

