A Cage-Free Week-In-Review

3 Jul

Except for this cage.  This is the only cage you will see in this new Week-In-Review.  Don’t worry…don’t bod150627worry.  These aren’t REAL birds.  It’s only a cartoon.

Really though, I don’t like the idea of caging a bird.  I mean, they’re birds, so they are birdbrained.  Maybe they don’t care.  I’d have to assume though they’d rather be flying out in the open air.  But, what do I know….

I used to have parakeets and I’d let them fly around the house.  They probably had it pretty good (except they did have to stay in their cage at night).

bod150628Another animal I used to have are dogs.  (And I still consider my mom’s dog, Ursa, mine as well in some sense.)

Enough about dogs though (even though one is featured in this next cartoon).

I used to NOT enjoy public speaking.  As I’ve mentioned in previous blog posts though, I actually enjoy talking in front of a crowd now.  Well, not really “talking”, but having fun.  I’ve been teaching painting in the evenings.  Usually, there are over 50 people in attendance and I have no problem teaching them a thing or two about art.  As LONG as I can goof around at the same time.

If I had to give a political speech or something – well – serious, I doubt I’d do as good.  THAT would get on my nerves.

Lucky for slugs, I’ve never tried this.  I’ve never tried to brutally murder a slug with salt.bod150629

That being said, I have (in my past) demolished numerous ant hills with my sneakers, smashed a large quantity of flying insects that land on trees with dirt balls and have wiped-out entire hives of wasps that try to build a nest close to me.

Again though, every slug has been pretty safe around me.  I hope slugs appreciate that.

In this next cartoon, I had a heck of a time trying to draw the stupid soccer ball in it.  (Sorry to soccer fans for calling your ball ‘stupid’.)

bod150630I’m not sure why, but it was not easy for me to draw.  A soccer ball has all kinds of awkward lines that – if wrong – will make it look like a mentally disturbed ball.

So, I hacked at this cartoon several times with the eraser to get it right.

Now THAT’S dedication!

As for witches, well, I can draw those at any time.bod150701

I was surprised this cartoon was rather popular considering it’s the middle of summer and not close to Halloween.  However, people seemed to enjoy it (online, at least).  Witch is really weird to me.

bod150702Bug zappers always fascinated me as a kid. (Notice how I throw-in the ‘as a kid’ reference a lot on here?  Not sure why….)

I just couldn’t understand why they would keep going up to the light when all their buddies were getting zapped and dying.

Then again, instead of birdbrains – they have bugbrains.  Must be even worse.

Last but not least, this was my favorite cartoon of the week.bod150703

It’s my favorite for several reasons.  One is, my daughter is due to arrive this November (yay!), so any cartoon depicting a newborn, I can relate to.

Also, it hits close to home because I have a feeling this is how my cat, Tiger, is going to react when we bring home Ella.  She seems discouraged already when I pay attention to my new fish instead of her.  I guess we’ll find out soon.

Okay, well, that wraps up this edition of a Week-In-Review!

Tell your friends, fwd this off and remember:  We keep most of our cartoons cage-free around here.

Leave a Reply

