Wake-Up Call

17 Jun

When I wake-up in the morning, like a lot of people, I generally run through my mind and figure out what it is that needs done for the day.  Everyday is a bit different.  Right now, I have my daily cartoons that need produced, teaching Paint Nite some evenings, working on and promoting Nate Fakes Cartoons and BizComicsPlus, I have other projects that I’m doing regularly like oil painting, a children’s book and graphic novel.  Oh, and marketing, invoices and the office stuff.

Everyday I’m faced with the same question:  What is the priority?

What NEEDS done today?

So, now that a lot of what I’m doing is ready to go, it’s time to really focus on the business side of things.  I mean, I always do have that focus (business side) but it’s time to fine-tune a lot.  The NEEDS are ones that produce regular income.  The stuff that is fun (like the children’s book, painting, etc.) are activities that I will continue doing, but aren’t exactly necessary on a daily basis.

Cartooning is enjoyable – and challenging – profession.  The enjoyable side is creating everlasting ideas that people enjoy.  The challenging side is getting those ideas to payoff.

I’m extremely excited about quite a bit in my profession right now.  Nate Fakes Cartoons is still being built-up and worked on, but it’s open and I’m thrilled to FINALLY have a place for customers to get instant downloads, license cartoons of mine and contact me for custom work.  This has been on my mind for years (a site like this) and now it’s here.

Also, BizComics is going to open the doors to some great new series for businesses that they’re going to love.

The “side projects” are things I do because I want to.  Will they payoff?  Well, in financial terms, who knows.  I’d do them anyway, so it doesn’t matter too much (although, let’s be honest, if they DO somehow, that’s never a bad thing).

Of course, I still have those really BIG ideas as well floating around.  And of course, I’ll try them out.  You The Big Picture (1)never know.

So, waking up there are a lot of things running through my head.  I make decisions and hope they’re good ones.  Different days and different decisions are what I wake- up to.  And when fueled by morning coffee, it helps give my decisions a well deserved wake-up call.

2 Responses to “Wake-Up Call”

  1. bearmancartoons June 17, 2015 at 10:32 pm #

    Painting the nursery…

Leave a Reply

