5/20/15

20 May

I try to be good with my money but one guilty pleasure I have is buying books.  I buy just about every book I read.  No library for me and I’m not too fond of e-readers.  Nope.  I like those handheld, printed books.

Why do I buy them?  I’m not sure totally sure.  Because, when I’m done with a book, it goes on the shelf.  And typically stays there.  BUT, there might be a method to my madness.  Sometimes, I’ll loan out my books.  The good ones I recommend get handed down if a family member or friend is interested in it.  I guess there’s something to say for that and makes my initial investment worth it, right?  Plus, hey – I enjoy supporting authors and booksellers.  There.  Plenty of reasons to buy them.

So, what have I been reading?

Listen, I won’t get into a huge discussion on everything.  Why?  Because I read A LOT.  No, really – I devour books.  My “special” time is evenings of relaxing and reading before bed.  Of course, it doesn’t happen all the time, but I do cherish those moments.  I’ve found that I’m not too good at reading in the morning.  I get tired no matter how thrilling the book is or if it’s a page turner.  I write in mornings – not read.

Anyhow, I will share several recent books I’ve read (and am reading).

IMG_0087

As you can see from my little pile, there’s quite the mix.

In the past month or so, these are the good ones.

No, they’re not in order, but in this stack I have Stephen King’s Revival, Paula Hawkins The Girl on the Train, Janis Heaphy Durham’s The Hand on the Mirror and Jack Kerouac’s On the Road.

Durham’s book just arrived Monday, so I am just now about to start reading it.  Looks good though and interesting.  I’m always curious about ‘ghost stories’ and supernatural-type things, so looking forward to this one.

And to be fair, Jack Kerouac’s On the Road I started reading YEARS ago.  However, I never completed it 100% (I was about 95%).  But, I just wrapped that up.

I won’t elaborate on these books (they were all good…except not sure on The Hand on the Mirror yet).  I will shed a little detail on Jack Kerouac though.

First off, my apologies to Jack for not finishing On the Road a long time ago.  I’ve read other stuff of his, but that one slipped by.

Also….

Many of you that have been hanging out with me for a LONG time know that I lived in St. Petersburg, Florida, for about four years.  During that time, I resided downtown.  And that was also a frequent haunt of Jack Kerouac.

I used to go to the same places he used to.  Many of the places haven’t changed since the sixties.  That was one thing I loved about St. Pete.  My fear is big money and corporations are taking over and are going to ruin the downtown into newer, ‘spiffier’ architecture.  If you make it there now though, you can get the vibe that a lot hasn’t changed in decades.  Pretty sweet currently, but again, I think that’s about to change.

Anyhow, I was very interested about his time living – and dying – in St. Petersburg.  His mother also lived there and he lived at her house for awhile.

I like Jack.  I like his writing and found (find) him interesting.  I’ve written several blogs about him, some of my experiences and more a few years ago:

CLICK HERE to read Kerouac Saturday

CLICK HERE to read My Neighbor Jack

Beyond Jack though, I love reading not only the classics but the newer, good books as well.  I actually pay attention to those book reviews in magazines.  They seem to pan out well.

So, what are you reading this summer?

Are you like me and actually BUY books?  Or read them on your iPad.  Hey, either way is fine.  Maybe you don’t read at all.  Or possibly you enjoy reading labels on cans of Campbell’s soup for fun.

While I’m reading what I got, I’m going to try and not let that money burn in my pocket for another book.  I have a tendency to buy more books as I’m reading books.  It’s tough though when, right across the street, is a bookstore.  Oh, and I get an email from Amazon everyday.

Stay in that wallet, you cash (or credit cards).  Otherwise I’ll be forced to buy a book on overspending habits of buying books.

Happy summer reading!

4 Responses to “5/20/15”

  1. Book Guy Reviews May 20, 2015 at 8:44 am #

    So many gems! Thanks for sharing the wonderful thoughts! If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and literary musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    • w101njf May 22, 2015 at 9:17 am #

      I’ll check it out! Thanks!

  2. Annette May 21, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

    I actually do both – ebooks and paperbacks! Oh an audiobooks… So many ways to ‘read’ a book! This month I’m reading some Kurt Vonnegut (‘Ice Nine’ – paperback – and ‘Slaughterhouse Five’ -audiobook) and I’m hoping to read at least one YA romance! I’m thinking ‘Crimson Bound’ by Rosamund Hodge.

    • w101njf May 22, 2015 at 9:18 am #

      There are quite a few options to ‘read’. I actually enjoy audiobooks when commuting. But, I don’t really commute much now, so haven’t listened to one in awhile.

      Enjoy those books! Let me know how they are.

Leave a Reply

