The Write Excuse

16 May

I’m always trying to come up with an excuse to write more.  Why?  I’m not too sure.  I guess it’s that embedded desire to put some words out there and maybe release some of the thoughts that I’ve kept stocked up in my head.  Probably the same reason that ANYONE writes.

Recently, I’ve felt like my writing has, well, lagged.

Hard to explain, but it just seems like forced words on many of my Week-in-Reviews and a lot of my daily emails.  Now, some of that is probably due to lack of motivation.  Let’s be honest – there are times we don’t feel like doing something.  And that happens with writing.  But, on top of the words feeling forced, I’ve noticed more typos than usual, bad grammar and other pet peeves that I should know better by now not to do.  Could be I need more coffee to take care of this issue, but not too sure.

Simon and Garfunkel

Considering I’m not writing for The New Yorker and only for myself, it’s not the end of the world.  However, I’d like to brush up on it.  I’ve NEVER considered myself grammatically perfect, an outstanding writer or anything of that measure.  I do however enjoy writing and want to do it more.  And while I’m at it, hopefully offer something of decent quality.  Or at least nothing generic like some of those awful tasting cookies from Aldi.

So, I’ve decided to start creating posts on a regular basis that kind of reads like a diary in some sense.  No, I’m not going to tell you about my very personal things (like how in 8th grade I had a crush on Samantha from Who’s the Boss?) or share details that you probably wouldn’t want to know.  It will mostly be about what I’m working on, daily struggle/frustrations and stuff like that.

It’s mostly for me – but hope you enjoy as well.  I’m not trying to bore any readers to death.

At any rate, it will be that good excuse I’m looking for to write.  (Or to drink more coffee.)

2 Responses to “The Write Excuse”

  1. Martina Christie May 16, 2015 at 7:58 am #

    Nate,

    Looking forward to your daily musings/thoughts. I understand the desire to write as to ‘hone’ the skill since all too often we cut corners when writings, sometimes regressing to what we ‘hear’ instead of what is proper.

    • w101njf May 16, 2015 at 10:47 am #

      Thank, Martina! Looking forward to it as well. We’ll see how it all goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

