Wedding Season

1 May

I call this particular post ‘Wedding Season’ due to the fact I have several cartoons featuring marriage.  One was pretty popular.  The other one received scathing reviews and some very interesting comments on GoComics.

Let’s start with the positive.bod150425

This cartoon was another Reader’s Digest rejection.  I actually had a few angles I was going to take with it.  One of them was going to be having the ocean filled with numerous bottles.  However, I thought to myself, “Where would all of those bottles have come from to begin with?”  Also, I sketched it out, and it just looked – off.

So, I stuck with one bottle and hey, I think people enjoyed it.

As for how they’ll get married without a pastor?  Beats me.

As I age, I am going to try my damnedest to stay in tune with current technology.

As tech stuff has boomed over the last couple of decades, I’ve been around many people that really don’t have a clue even how to turn on a computer.  When I mention this, keep in mind that back in the day, I worked tech support (not for computers, but other gadgets).  Probably the most frustrating career (besides cartooning) of my life.bod150426

I told myself back then that I would never let that happen to me.  “Stay up-to-date on technology, Nate.” I told myself as I tried to figure out how to turn off the shuffle option on my MP3 player.

And now that I’ve said that, I may have jinxed it and watch me be waaaay behind in several decades.  Oh well.

But speaking of age, age is just a number – just like the next cartoon.

One of the only things I comprehended in math was even and odd numbers.  THAT I could grasp.  Everything else was just garble.  bod150427

That lead to the latest number comic which I enjoyed creating (not that I don’t enjoy creating ALL my work, but you know).

Now it’s time for a stretch….

Stretch of patience, that is.bod150428

This is one of those off-the-wall ideas that just came to me while thinking back to some old songs that I used to get a kick out of.  Such as this one.

Anyway, it was an idea also sparked by those early car rides that I had growing up on family vacation.  My poor sister was tortured by me relentlessly for hours upon end.

Amazingly, she likes me now (I think).bod150429

This next cartoon was the TOP cartoon on Reddit for a day!  Whoo-hoo!

Okay, I’ve mentioned it before on here, but really, what does that mean?  Is it a big deal?  Do I get a big bonus check for having a top comic on Reddit?

The answer is simply, it really doesn’t do much of anything.  BUT, I am pleased that it was so popular, so that’s what it does – it makes me feel popular.  Hey, I’ll take it.  Considering I really wasn’t in high school, it’s kind of nice from time to time nowadays.

And now, my second cartoon dealing with marriage.

THIS one proved very unpopular – at least online.bod150430

As for me?  I actually think it’s quite amusing, so that’s why I created it.  And yes, I’m happily married and have never been divorced, so maybe that’s why it struck a nerve with some people?  Not sure.  At any rate, it didn’t get many “likes” on Facebook, didn’t fare so well on Reddit and received some very interesting comments on GoComics (like I mentioned early).

So, if those are the platforms for judging a cartoons success (which they’re really not), than it was an utter failure.  However, I license out all my work.  Any divorce attorneys out there looking for a good cartoon for your website or newsletter?  I’m your man.  Call me.

But, let’s end on a high-note.

THIS cartoon was almost – ALMOST – used in Reader’s Digest.bod150501

It was in the selection committees office.  However, in the end, it was not used.

I’ve been pushing for a cartoon in that publication for years now, but I took a lot of time off submitting to them (for some reason).  Now, in the past couple of months, I’ve figured out a better system of pitching material, so I submit regularly.

One of these days, I’ll have a cartoon in there.  No, really….I WILL!

Alright, gang, that does it for this week-in-review.

For the daily cartoon and more commentary, be SURE to sign up for my daily email!  I know this sounds like a pitch, but honestly, I just send the daily email and don’t SPAM you with wanting money or anything.  Of course, I’ll have special promos, announcements and more when I have new launches or something of value, but it’s not like those annoying Linkedin updates.  CLICK HERE TO JOIN.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Wedding Season”

  1. bearmancartoons May 1, 2015 at 10:32 am #

    So people are touchy about divorce. Probably got buried on FB. I never saw it.

    • w101njf May 1, 2015 at 10:40 am #

      I suppose so. My bad. I’ll crank out some cute cat cartoons to make up for it all.

Leave a Reply

