Where is T.S.?

15 Apr

Document Header

What the…..?

“What happened to your new series, Technically Speaking?” I am asked one balmy afternoon.

“It’s here – but it’s not.” I respond as I bite into a cheeseburger.

“Oh.”

“Don’t worry though, it will all naturally work itself out.  Oops…I spilled ketchup on myself.”

Actually, this scenario was made-up in my head.  But really though, what DID happen to the series I launched back in January called, Technically Speaking?

Here’s the scoop:

First off, I LOVE that series.  I have gobs of material for it.  And I want to continue it.

That being said, I want to continue it in a more “professional” manner.  Truth be told, I’m not too big of a fan of creating just a web comic.  I pitched the idea of having it publicly funded – which a lot of successful webcomics do – but I find that concept not something I want to continue doing.  I might change my mind at some point, but for now, I’m not a huge fan of asking people for money to support something.  Basically because I’M bad at doing that myself.  And I know money is tight.

I’ve gone the old-fashioned route.

Printers Suck

Yes, I’m pitching Technically Speaking to the syndicates.  One at a time.

And while that’s happening, the newest ones will NOT be posted online.

Why?

Well, I know there’s a one-in-a-million chance that it COULD be picked up (or slightly less odds), but if it does, I’m sure there will be some restructuring involved.  That being said, I don’t want to keep creating dozens of comic strips without hearing some feedback.

Toaster Girlfriend

I know the odds are tough to get syndicated this day and age, however, it’s actually looking up (syndication for anyone).  My series, Break of Day, is syndicated online.  I want Technically Speaking syndicated “big time” that involves print in newspapers – like that zany Marmaduke.  I know…I know…I’m asking a lot.

We’ll see what happens.

After over a decade in the funny business, I really believe in the feature and it had a great first initial reaction from people.

If it DOESN’T get syndicated, I’m not too sure yet what will happen with it.  Time and money play a big factor in all my work (gotta pay those bill, you know) and that’s not something I think I would have the energy to do ‘just for fun’.  Everything will pan out over time and nature will take its course.  If it’s supposed to happen – it will.  If not, well…. I guess I’ll go eat another cheeseburger.

Bucket List

So, as Technically Speaking sits on an editors desk somewhere, you can read the complete Technically Speaking that is posted so far HERE.

And, of course, any updates will happen right HERE – on the blog.

Leave a Reply

