There’s Some Luck

3 Apr

This week, there is quite the array of cartoons for your enjoyment (or displeasure – whatever you choose).  Everything from Apple products to an airplane.  I’ll get right into it.  Lengthy introductions are SO a decade ago.

Let’s start off with something dirty.bod150328

Not quite sure why, but I’ve had an ample amount of worm material to work with recently.  Typically, anytime I have premises for ANYTHING, I’ll create a comic out of it – good or bad.

So, this was one of those awful puns I came up with.

I wasn’t sure how well it would be received, but hey – people seemed to like it.

I guess I’ll keep doing earthworm jokes.  (Please keep reading my work regardless.)

bod150329Now the next comic was one of my favorites of the week.  I think I was the only one that thought so.  It didn’t seem to take-off too much.

What do I mean by ‘take-off’?  Well….

You might wonder how I judge the popularity of cartoons. I really don’t have a rating system, but I do check out the comments on my syndicates site and on my Facebook page.  Stuff gets shared?  Great!  I assume it’s good.  No shares?  Well, you get the drift.

I don’t know why I do this to myself.

Some of my BEST material is stuff that doesn’t do well on social media, but in publications.

Basically, my scale is off.

I’ve said that about my weight as well.

bod150330Enough about weight.  On to straws.

Forget my previous comment about the dogs being my favorite comic of the week.  I think it’s these straws, now that I look at it again.

I almost drew a crazy straw in a nuthouse talking to a regular straw with the same caption.  (Actually, that’s not a bad idea.  I think I might do that.)

bod150331Are you all jazzed-up about the new iWatch coming out?

I’m not.

I’d like to think it’ll be cool, but I can’t imagine it being that great for me.

For one thing, I have big fingers.  So, even on my iPhone, texting and checking things proves quite difficult for me sometimes (oh, and frustrating).

So, I’m imagining myself trying to tap buttons on an even SMALLER screen.

You would probably watch my iWatch being an iFly as I throw it out of frustration.

bod150401So, the next feature of the week:  Cows.

There was really no gag in this one, but for some reason, it made me laugh (before even drawing it) so I sketched the thing out.

Usually, any cartoon featuring cows does pretty well.

My theory was proven when this one was shared quite a bit online.

Damn….there I go with my popularity scale again.  I really need to knock that off.

bod150402Not too sure how many kids can relate to this next one unless they know their airplane history.  Anyway…I found this one fun.

I almost created this one without a caption and adding braces and glasses to it.  Better idea that what I went with?  Yes?  No?  Ah, too late now.

bod150403The next cartoon would’ve been great on St. Patrick’s Day.  Too bad I didn’t think of it until a few days after.

Dang.

I still like it though.

I never understood the whole black cat/bad luck thing.  I’ve crossed many black cats before, and usually make it home alright.  Well, I just jinxed it now, so we’ll see what happens.

That’s it for the week of cartoons!

I know I plug it every week, but you can get these daily by subscribing HERE.  Yes, I write a little post and deliver the newest cartoons EVERYDAY.   It’s a daunting task indeed.

Well, nobody likes a long, dragged-out ending (that was so a decade ago), so until we meet again.

2 Responses to “There’s Some Luck”

  1. Martina Christie April 3, 2015 at 8:51 am #

    Nate,

    About those straws, glad you had this overview of the week, was not sure of the reference ‘guess you are not from around here’ (possible paraphrase) BUT I could not get it the other day. NOW I do! Wheat straw vs a drinking straw…….must of had a ‘blonde’ moment though I am a brunette. Thanks for starting my day off with a chuckle!

    • w101njf April 4, 2015 at 3:38 pm #

      Well, that’s the good thing about these weekly wrap-ups – it clarifies any loose ends. Glad you enjoy and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

