Greens and More

20 Mar

I’ve had quite the week so far.  For one thing, St. Patrick’s Day totally screwed with my regular schedule.10615995_10152715138679117_5503062607436614575_n  I was convinced to head over to our local pub at 8:30 in the morning for a dose of Irish bagpipers, green Budweiser and some chewy breakfast.  Boy, I’m getting old.  I was done by about one or so in the afternoon.  Waking up and drinking some cold ones isn’t quite appealing as it was when I was twenty (nor as easy)  But hey, I made it out.  It was actually a good time, but now I feel the need to catch-up on everything.  Oh, and the headache following it all wasn’t exactly pleasant.

This past week didn’t feature any TOTALLY green cartoons to celebrate the holiday.  But, I did feature some awesome “green” characters that enjoy and thrive in nature.bod150314

When I was a kid I used  to watch those nature shows on PBS (or whatever channel we had at the time) and used to hear the people filming that they must not interfere with nature  – as a lion is mulling an antelope.

I guess if I were taping upsetting things such as a big cat getting its next dinner, I would interfere.  What could go wrong?  The antelope goes home happy and the lion would get upset.  Might make for good film?

bod150315I’ve seen it over-and-over again where kids these days simply play with an iPad or smartphone and really don’t do much of anything else.  Do kids even go outside to play anymore?

The reality of this cartoon featuring an iPad babysitting is it’s probably bound to happen in the near future.  I can easily see parents trusting equipment to watch their children instead of hiring some human.

Hey, it could be happening now.  Who knows.  I guess the good thing would be not having to drive the babysitter home afterwards (save on some gas).

bod150316That brings me to ANOTHER cartoon about testing.

This one proved pretty popular on social media sites and sites like Reddit.

You have to wonder if they DO have test to prepare for employment at the Emergency Broadcast System.  After all, there are employees behind that annoying beep that interrupts programs at the most inopportune moments.  Whoever is behind it, sometimes I’d like to smack you for your annoyance.bod150317

And now to the birds and the bees.

I actually came up with the gag to this WITHOUT the caption of ‘Fee Range Chickens’.  Somehow, the caption came to me later.  I almost left it out originally.bod150318

And as for the bees, well, it would be hard to be an introvert if you lived in a bee nest.  Plus, if you’re expected to swarm, that would be tough.

bod150319Naming a child after a prison number would be quite unique.  I’m not sure if that’s been done yet?

I remember when I lived in Florida and was working a lousy day job, the UPS driver there mentioned to me that he named all four of his sons after beer companies.  I’m guessing those kids are probably in counseling now.

bod150320And the last comic of the week features one of my favorite topics:  cell phones!

This cartoon reminds me of my series, Technically Speaking.  Which, by the way, it’s on a short break.  The series is being pitched to syndicates as we speak.  For now though, as it’s being reviewed by editors, I’m turning my focus on my gag cartoons and upcoming new website.  So, T.S. fans, I hope to see it return soon.  It’s a time thing right now and also if syndication DOES happen, I’m sure there will be some adjusting done to the strip anyhow.  But, it’s a tough sell for syndication, so we’ll see….

That’s my week – how about yours?

I love hearing thoughts on the latest cartoons.  Keep in mind that I have new ones daily, and you can subscribe for free to my daily email and get them all delivered to you first thing in the morning (unless, of course, you’re on an opposite time zone than me).

 

 

2 Responses to “Greens and More”

  1. David Hurley March 20, 2015 at 10:33 am #

    My St Patrick’s day was pretty bland. I could never (and still can’t) drink in the mornings. But these days I barely even touch any kind of alcohol . . . I guess I am getting old. Great new comics this week and here’s to your St Patties day!

    • w101njf March 20, 2015 at 11:04 am #

      It’s not easy getting up for booze! I think this was my last year doing that….the headache wasn’t worth it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

