Sweating It Out

7 Feb

I know it’s so cliche to workout at the beginning of the year.  Well, I’m happy to say that I didn’t START working out at the beginning of this year (I’ve been doing that), however, I’ve really stepped it up in 2015.

As a cartoonist, my profession involves a lot of sitting.  And snacks.

It’s important that I don’t just sit around, eat and not do anything else.  I would definitely be the ‘Biggest Loser‘ if I did that.

bod150109

So, I’m happy to say I workout quite a bit.

I’m not here to brag about it.  It kind of drives me nuts when I’m on Facebook and I see people putting up selfies followed by, “At the gym….man, I’m strong!  Look a me!”.  Basically though, I wanted to share with you my mindset and how it changed a bit.

I used to do just the bare minimum workout.  A few chest exercises, biceps, triceps and about 20 minutes of cardio.  And this was about 3-4 times a week.  Never consistent, but I have been doing it this way for years.

I never really enjoyed it.  It seemed like a hard effort every time.  After all, I’m not trying to get buff or anything.  It was just something I felt I had to do.

I tried doing the whole waking up at 5:30 AM and getting it out of the way.  I realized that was torture and stopped doing it.  (In fact, I wrote about that several months ago about my daily routine.  When I wrote that, the early morning thing was happening.  Ugh.)

What I’ve realized is this:  If you’re miserable going to the gym, change the routine.

I love going to the gym now and am there about two hours a day.  I know not everyone has two hours a day, but honestly, if you give up maybe a few television shows, you could at least fit in an hour.  Or a half hour.  Hey, it’s up to you.  Don’t go at all if you don’t want.  Again, I’m just sharing my thoughts.  Anyway…

Here’s a few reasons why I love going now:

I joined an ACTUAL gym:  Before I was just going downstairs to the small one in my apartment complex.  There is some pretty good equipment at an actual gym and I can get a much better workout.  The piddly stuff downstairs didn’t cut it.  Plus, if ONE other person was working out, it was cramped and annoying.  It felt like you were walking over each other (which may have actually happened a few times).

I go with a friend:  Yes, that helps immensely.  You have someone push your workout and also, if your friend goes, you’re 10 x’s more likely to not come up with an excuse not to go.

It’s feels like getting out (and it is):  This applies to me since I’m in my studio all day.  Getting out and physically driving to the gym actually feels like a getaway now and not a chore.

I changed my workout time to evenings:  Remember me mentioning how miserable I was getting up at 5:30 AM?  I stopped fooling myself and realized I’m not a morning person.  Never have been and probably never will be.  Find a good time that works.  If you’re not happy with it, change it.  If you don’t have a flexible schedule, try to see if there’s anyway to adjust it.  I know it’s not always easy, but there are things you can do.

Anyway, I just wanted to share those little tidbits.

If you’re in a profession like me that requires sitting a lot – or not – I’d suggest going to a gym.  I’ve felt great the last month and it’s a great escape from the norm.  Plus, I’m guessing it’s healthy.

I’m not personal trainer or here to motivate you, but it’s been a good 2015 for getting in shape.  Somehow, I hope this all translates into a stellar 2015 for cartooning as well.

Don't Tread on Me Treadmill

Leave a Reply

