Cartoons 1-10 to 1-16

16 Jan

I’ve had an interesting week of cartooning. For one thing, I launched my NEW series, Technically Speaking, yesterday. You can check it out HERE.

Another thing was my week was a bit interrupted due to a certain game last Monday evening? What game was that? Well, if I have to tell you, I won’t. All I’ll say is GO BUCKS!

But, now to the reason that we’re really here….It’s time for another week-in-review of cartoons!

bod150110

1-10-15

I hate to start things off on a sour note, but I created this cartoon because I CAN’T STAND big business. And when I say big business, I’m talking about companies that create this type of scenario in the cartoon. Often times CEO’s will make way more than necessary, all while employees get paid barely anything without benefits. Simply drives me nuts.

At any rate, I’m not going to get into it. I’ve already gotten a few emails about this one, but from the response, I believe most people feel the same way. I’m a small business owner myself (Nate Fakes Cartoons) and if I had employees and the money, yes, anyone working under me would be taken care of to the best of my ability.

But for now, I’m my own intern. That means I bring in my own donuts each morning and get my own coffee.

bod150111

1-11-15

My fridge has a variety pack of things that I believe shouldn’t be there due to an expired shelf life. However, I have a bad habit of leaving stuff in there sometimes. It’s not really laziness, but for some reason I always think there’s a way to resuscitate it and make it okay. But, eventually, I cave and the product is pitched.

Luckily, I don’t have this problem with my books.

bod150112

1-12-15

Okay, this joke was pretty corny – even for me. I was pretty close to not even publishing it. BUT, as usual, a joke I feel lags, a lot of people enjoyed. So, goes to show that even I don’t always know what will be funny.

bod150113

1-13-15

I’ve created quite a few monster comics recently. This one though is my favorite. Why? Well, with all the recalls going on with automobiles, I’m guessing – like food products – you probably shouldn’t attempt to eat them either. They’re probably inedible.

bod150114

1-14-15

Several people mentioned that it looks like a dung beetle that the fly is hanging out with. If that’s the case the fly might have it worse. It might not talk trash, but definitely would talk a bunch of s#*@.

bod150115

1-15-15

I’m still trying to figure out how he’s able to type with those gloves on, but hey, in a cartoon, this kind of thing is pretty common. Almost as off-the-wall as a talking tree. Which brings me to this…..

bod150116

1-16-15

A talking tree!

This idea came directly from my sketch book. When coming up with ideas, to warm up, usually I’ll just draw random images that end up in my head (somehow). At any rate, I drew a tree. Later I added a bird. The tree looked a bit worried and – wallah! – I ended up with this particular cartoon. I might be the only one that REALLY finds this funny, but I loved the visual. I have many friends that act this way if a lightning bug even lands on them.

Well, that is it for this past week’s review and insight of the cartoons! Hopefully it was, well, insightful.

Again, I hate to shamelessly promote my own work, but I just launched my new series and – if you enjoy these cartoons – I have a feeling you’ll like this as well. CLICK HERE to check it out.

Leave a Reply

