Cartoons 12-13 to 12-19

19 Dec

Throughout the past week I’ve had quite the variety of cartoons – which is pretty typical of me. No, I didn’t barrage the funny pages with holiday comics like many cartoonist (but don’t worry – there might be one or two of those coming up for next time). However, I have a lot to leave you wondering what the hell I was thinking when making some of these.

So, without waiting any further, here they are.

bod141213

12-13-14

Aaa, the fishbowl.

There are a million and one gags that I could create about fish living in a bowl (and you can see quite a few of them HERE). Not to toot my own horn, but I really like this one. I just placed myself from the perspective of a fish. Could you imagine if you were a fish and you dated – then you broke up. And now, your ex is living with you in the same bowl with no escape? Hey, producers of Finding Nemo, take note. This premise could be a good prequel. I’d watch it. (And send me some royalties.)

bod141214

12-14-14

Only in the cartoon world is there such thing as a ‘health-conscious shark‘ (just about as peculiar as a fish dating like in the previous cartoon). However, it seems like they’ll nibble on anything that moves. I wonder if they ever mistake their relatives or parents as a potential meal? That would be one swift way to get rid of that annoying aunt – if you’re a shark (and if sharks have aunts).

bod141215

12-15-14

Seems like there’s quite a few shows about living in the wild and especially Alaska. Just go to National Geographic Channel or Discovery and you’ll find a few programs. I don’t know if there’s an igloo population in that state or not (igloos might be more of a North Pole spot), but if it got too crowded and that’s not your thing, I guess it would be time to pack-up and leave. Maybe to a remote iceberg?

bod141216

12-16-14

So, this comic is based off the app, SnapChat. I almost used the word SnapChat in the actual comic, but then that kind of limits it and also those pesky copyright infringement lawsuits might roll in. At any rate, this cartoon isn’t very far-fetched. I can see something like this happening in the very near future (if it hasn’t happened already). Which, in the case of many wedding pictures, might not be a bad thing.

bod141217

12-17-14

This is a bit cliche of me to create a cartoon like this being a cartoonist, but oh well. It’s so true. There are days that I sit in front of a blank piece of paper with nothing. Absolutely nothing. The good news is, usually after a few days of this and many hours, usually ideas will all roll-out of me at once and I’ll get a week’s worth of material in one setting. Or, it can go horribly wrong and I get nothing written for a few week’s. Either way, the deadlines don’t stop so I gotta produce something.

This comic was the something.

bod141218

12-18-14

I almost didn’t do this comic in fear of upsetting people that have been in an actual plane crash or know of anyone in a crash and being accused of being insensitive. But then I thought about it, and you always see cartoons about car accidents, bikes flipping and riding lawnmowers going haywire – so screw it – I can create a cartoon with a most unfortunate and devastating plane incident.

Plus, I’m my own editor-in-chief, so I approved this (myself). Please send any strongly worded comments to my interns (myself also).

bod141219

12-19-14

A simple comic, but hey, I like it. If you’re a rock, life is hard. We can all relate sometimes. We however cannot relate to being stuck in a gravel pit or used for a driveway.

Well, that wraps up the latest weekly cartoons! It’s been an interesting week and be sure to cruise on by here next Friday for more.

You can subscribe to these cartoons and get them daily by CLICKING HERE

License a cartoon for use in your website, blog, newsletter or anything by CLICKING HERE

2 Responses to “Cartoons 12-13 to 12-19”

  1. bearmancartoons December 19, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    Should have used the word snapchat. It’s parody so its oK 🙂

    • w101njf December 20, 2014 at 7:04 am #

      Usually it’s okay, but when I try to license out a cartoon with a brand name on it, for some reason, a few companies won’t take them. I think it is okay though (but then again, I’m no lawyer).

Leave a Reply

