Cartooning Runs in the Family?

9 Oct

To whomever thinks I learned cartooning without any natural ability, well, you might be wrong.  In fact, there’s a good chance I inherited the bug to do this line of work.  From who?

Several weeks ago, my dad, who lives in Alabama, came to town for a visit.

One of the things he’s doing now (since he’s freshly retired) is cleaning out his closet.  You know – pitching unnecessary items that seem to take up space.  I can’t blame dad for that because I’m the same way.  I tend to pitch things that just don’t make sense to keep.  That used to include bills (until I learned I needed to pay those).

However, some things are worth saving.

He brought with him a box of belongings to see if I would like to keep them and save them from the dumpster.  I definitely wanted to see what he had, so I checked out the box of goodies.  Besides, I didn’t want him filling up his dumpster anymore.  (I already heard it was getting full.)

Unbeknownst to me, dad – at one time – was a cartoonist!

After all these years, I had no clue.  I never saw any of this stuff.  Ever.

No, he didn’t do them professionally or take it to what I’m doing.  However, I believe if he would’ve kept at it, well, he could’ve been the next Gary Larson (it’s not too late, dad).

He did get them published in the school paper.

Anyway….

So, with his permission, I wanted to share some of his comics.  It’s funny, because I notice a resemblance in some of my work with them.

IMG_0115 IMG_0116 IMG_0117 Scan 1 Scan 2 Scan 3 Scan 4 Scan 5 Scan 6 Scan 7 Scan 8 Scan 9 Scan 10 Scan 11 Scan 12 Scan 13 Scan 14 Scan 15 Scan

I can honestly say I was impressed!  The writing, gags and drawings – and I’m not being bias – for the most part are pretty good!  It’s not like he was doing these full-time or anything either.

Anyway, yes – I’ve practiced and worked hard at cartooning.  However, I believe this explains why it’s in my blood:  Because it is.

Dad is now painting (which he did awhile back as well).  I won’t post much about it this time, but let’s just say he’s really getting fantastic at it.  (He always has been talented with painting – just hasn’t picked up a brush until recently.)

Looks like I might have some competition here soon if he keeps this up.  Or, maybe I can just hire him as an intern.

2 Responses to “Cartooning Runs in the Family?”

  1. bearmancartoons October 10, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

    That is cool. I for one know my dad was not an artist. You should recreate those in your style with his jokes.

    • w101njf October 11, 2014 at 9:52 am #

      That’s not a bad idea! I just don’t want dad suing me for plagiarism….

Leave a Reply

