I Know I Am

1 Sep

I am definitely an artist. 

Okay, let me elaborate a bit more – I KNOW I’m an artist.  Like, as sure as I am my name is Nate (er, actually, it’s Nathanael).  It’s in my psyche.  I have an artist mentality.  I just have noticed it coming out more and more.  I talk art/comics every chance I get.  I’ve been more vocal about my work when I go out on the town.  I’m the type of guy that would have a bumper sticker that says ‘I’d rather be painting’ (but I don’t, because I’m not a big fan of bumper stickers).

It’s great – and frustrating – all at the same time.

When you’re forced to devote your time to other projects to pay the bills, it’s torture when it’s not something you love doing.  ANY other profession, job, etc. is not going to be suitable for me.  Nope.  I draw things.  I paint.  And I’m working like crazy daily upping my craft.  I was not meant to be anything else.

I’m going through a re-branding stage right now with a lot of my comics and work.  I’ve got a big new business venture on the way, marketing strategies, a new site and more in progress.  And I think combining absolutely everything I’ve worked my entire life toward, I’ll be able to completely submerge myself into my passion and not have to think twice about working on something that I have no thrills doing to keep the lights on.

So, amongst other artist, I can see where the frustrations come from.  It’s not easy making it in this cold, harsh world of bills and groceries, but it’s totally doable.

When you have a passion, I say just go for it.  Hell, I just turned 35 and there are a lot of things I thought I’d have accomplished by now, but I haven’t.  I’m sleeping good (well, unless I have too much coffee) knowing that I’ve tried. 

Anyway, in fear of sounding like a motivational speaker, I’ll stop with that.

My point to this whole rambling is it’s interesting to see my artist mentality come out more frequently.  Not too sure what totally sparked it (I used to be pretty hush-hush on my art/cartooning).  I think it’s a good thing.  Gotta get my name out there a bit here in my good ol’ community.  And I feel like I am.  I think soon I will in a bigger way (beyond just around here). 

For now, I still struggle with frustrations of doing what I have to to get my finances in order, but I see the end of the tunnel soon where I can truly focus in on the projects I want to do and can devote my hours to that instead of wasting them on nonsense. 

Life is short. 

Draw hard, play hard and eat your veggies.

4 Responses to “I Know I Am”

  1. David Hurley September 2, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    Go with your passion and rant, Nate.You have come a long way and think if you had never started. You are doing well by a lot of standards (and further than me and younger than me). I know I work and all my spare time is spent making comics (which I love) but it sure would be nice to only work on my art full time. Thanks for the motivation, we all need it at time!

    • w101njf September 30, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

      Thanks, David! You keep at it as well. It’s actually gotten better for me since I posted this a few weeks back. At any rate, it’s all doable – just takes a lot of work. And I’m glad I’ve had the miserable times to help appreciate the good times at the drawing board.

  2. bearmancartoons September 9, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    Keep at it, you’ll get there.

    If not, I can get you an application from McDonalds 🙂

    • w101njf September 30, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

      Big Macs are mighty tasty. That’s always an option 🙂

Leave a Reply

