Evolution of Comics

29 Jul

It’s pretty clear that comics evolve.  Intentionally?  Nope.  It just happens (if you don’t believe me, go look at early Peanuts comic compared to what they became).

My work has actually evolved more than I thought.  And when I say evolve, I’m talking about the look, writing and basically everything.

If you look waaaaaay back, there is a dramatic difference.  Like, big time.  But, I’ll save that for a different blog post.

Today, I’m going to show you some material from about five years ago.

As many of you know, I’m in the process of launching my own site where ALL my comics will be available for licensing, prints, etc.  I’m stoked.  I’m so excited to have a place for my clients to browse my work – pain-free.  Currently, it’s not as accessible and instantaneous as it needs to be.

So, that being said, I’m editing and going through my old stash of material.

Some of it, eh, not bad.

Other ones, yeah – I’m not too sure.

BUT, I’m always shocked by what cartoons strike a chord with some clients.  What I consider not too great often times works well with a particular publication, premise, etc.  A lot of the examples I’m about to show you were actually considered for Reader’s Digest and other magazines.

Anyhow…

That means I use all of my material I’ve compiled over the years.  Yes, even the old stuff.

Below is a look at some of the older cartoons I’ve created.

You’ll notice I feature a lot of kids and a lot of yellow.  My target audience at this time in my life was magazine/print publications.  So, I tried to add the ‘cute’ factor and make them as family friendly as possible.  Well, most of them.  The battered PC probably wouldn’t make the cut in Woman’s World.

And if you’re a business, individual or anyone interested in licensing my cartoons, I do have my work available via Cartoonstock currently.  You can click through my archives at this link (CLICK HERE) and it’s a great place to see a mix of the old and new so you can compare.

A Souvaneer (1)

Appliance Birthday (1)

Are we there yet (1)Battered Windows (1)Bland Cooking (1)Blender Fun (1)Father's Day Comic (1)Its Burning (1)Sandcastle Foreclosure (1)

2 Responses to “Evolution of Comics”

  1. bearmancartoons July 29, 2014 at 5:58 pm #

    looks the same to me

    • w101njf July 30, 2014 at 4:57 am #

      Deep down, I think it is.

Leave a Reply

