Beach in Hawaii

24 Jul

I wrapped up my newest oil painting last week.  This one was commissioned – not just for the fun of it.

My client had a photo of a beach scene in Hawaii.  I worked with the image and created this on a 36″ X 48″ canvas.  Not typically how I paint (going off a picture) but I had a blast creating it and I like the way it turned out.  Of course, next time I wouldn’t mind actually going to Hawaii to paint something like this.  Oh well.

The person who commissioned this is happy and all is well.  That’s always good.

So, here it is.

photo-4Above:  Beach in Hawaii, 36″ X 48″ oil on canvas

One thing I learned in art school (waaaay back in the day) is to draw what you see – not what is there.  I use that principal with all my work.  However, I did emphasize the waves on this painting a bit more intentionally than normal.  Mostly because the client really wanted a strong focus on this part of it.  So, yes, I drew what I saw.  But I did add a few highlights knowing damn well that they were waves.  Please don’t tell any of my old college art professors.

photo-6Above:  A closeup of the beach/waves.  The paint is still not totally dry, by the way.

I absolutely love doing commissioned work and hope to expand my clients.  Yes, I am a cartoonist, but more and more painting has become a real passion as well.  It always has been, but I’ve experienced some-what of a reemergence of it.  I guess it’s just a nice change of pace from just the silly gag cartoons and comics.  So, if you’re in need of a painting, well…..

More to come!

In the meantime, here is the painting being displayed in the clients business office.

photo-5Above:  Yes, it needs a frame.  One is coming soon.

2 Responses to “Beach in Hawaii”

  1. David Hurley July 28, 2014 at 8:50 am #

    It’s beautiful, Nate. One thing I can remember from painting classes is we draw imagined lines (like the eyes). Which makes sense. I really need to get back into painting, again, great job!

    • w101njf July 28, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks, David! I highly recommend getting back into painting. It’s a nice change of pace and really been enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

