Drawing Board Exposed

13 Jul

I’ve always had an interest in seeing where other artist work.  The source of where something is put together is intriguing to me.  So, with that being said, I thought I’d share MY work space.  No, not my whole office.  Today, I wanted to just give you a glimpse of where the drawings come to life.  Where else would that be but my trustworthy drawing board.  Or drawing table.  Whatever.  Call it what you will.

This day and age, I would think that most cartoonist work digitally.  Like, 100% digitally.  I could be wrong on this, but from what I hear and see, it seems to be the case.  I am old school.  Call me crazy, but I love to use India ink, a dip-pen and Bristol board.  Something about having the original art is, well, quite nice (even though I have piles and piles of thousands of comics now).  And who likes change?  Not this guy (except changing the channels on a boring television show is quite satisfying).

Now, using the ‘old school’ method can also prove frustrating.  I have had numerous ink spills, accidents and uncooperative pens in my years of cartooning.  Several uncouth adjectives were also expressed here at times when things didn’t go my way.

You’ll see this.

I have pictures.

So, without further ado, I’ll share some with you.

10524075_10152201245094117_1071164814_nAbove:  The whole view of where I work

As you can see I am definitely using the classic instruments to produce work.  You can see the t-square, tape and all the stuff on the right hand side that consist of ink, erasers, pencils, nibs and a few things that probably don’t even belong there.  If I were a cartoonist at the turn of the 20th century I think it would look the same (except that lamp would’ve probably been a candle or something else).

10529527_10152201245084117_939345722_nAbove:  The area I’m talking about on the right hand side of my table.

I like to refer to my workspace as organized chaos.  To a normal viewer, it looks like a mess.  Anyone who is a neat freak would cringe at the way I have everything setup.  BUT, cleanliness is the last thing you think about when making art.  If I concentrated on putting my pen back in its proper place other than how well my line quality is, well, I’m guessing a lot of my work would come out crappy.

Everything you see has a purpose.  I couldn’t do what I do without them.

10529676_10152201245099117_2000504648_nAbove: A little closer view (you’re welcome).

Okay, if you look at the above picture – you see all that tape and stuff?  Notice the massive ink stains?  It’s all part of the work.  Actually, the more beat-up and battered my drawing table looks the happier I feel about it.  It means I’m working a lot.

10531312_10152201245089117_1355045955_nAbove:  The ink

India ink is an interesting substance.  It’s bold and black and very effective for cartooning.  The downside of it is if you get it on ANYTHING, the chances of it coming up are rare.  I remember at my old studio after high school I was living with my dad and step mom and I ended up spilling a bottle on the carpet.  In a frantic move I tried  – I believe – every soap imaginable to try to get it off the floor, but nothing worked.  So, I did the next best thing and tried to hide it. I think I put a trash can or something over it so it wasn’t obvious.  At any rate,  I’m pretty sure they noticed it after I moved out.  Anyhow, my point is it’s brutally permanent.  And it’s runny.  So, if you ever decide to use India ink, be careful.  As you can see from this picture there’s quite a mess of it.  I have had several spills.

Well, that is that.

I plan on posting again at some point about my ENTIRE office and what all I have.  Maybe I’ll dig into a bit more information about my drawing table as well.

I guess I can point out that I do use Photoshop and digitally color.  That I find much more professional than doing it by hand (I used to hand paint my work).  Saves me TONS of time.  And plus, painting can prove more frustrating than India ink when you can’t make the right color.

Hope you enjoyed this little glimpse.  I spend a vast majority of my time here (which is why I’m notorious for having to get out on the weekends).  It’s the most satisfying place in my house (even though my couch is quite comfortable).

 

4 Responses to “Drawing Board Exposed”

  1. David Hurley July 14, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

    Thanks for the glimpse into your work space. Now what does the rest of the room look like, controlled chaos? 😉

    • w101njf July 21, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

      Oh, I’ll be revealing that soon 😉 (Actually, it’s not THAT bad.)

  2. bearmancartoons July 14, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

    The benefit is that you have original art to sell. That is a huge benefit.

    • w101njf July 21, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

      I like to think so. Adds some more clutter, too.

Leave a Reply

