Knocking On Heaven’s Door Book

31 Jul

KOHD_Cover__90928.1374597125.1280.1280It’s heeeeere……

The first book I’ve ever had ‘officially’ published is now out.

Knocking On Heaven’s Door is a comic strip that is written by comedian, Tommy Blaze.  Tommy contacted me back in 2008 about becoming the cartoonist for the series – which features a six-year-old named Spencer and his best friend who happens to be God.  He liked my work and, well, we explain it in the book.  Anyway, after a phone conversation and several emails, I really saw the potential in the comic strip, agreed to be the cartoonist and so it goes…..

I’ve illustrated the series for 5 years now.  This hardcover book contains 199 comic strips (some colored), commentary by Tommy and I, individual new colored pictures and a neat evolution of the strip.  It has some drawings of mine from the beginning that I cringe at (because it was new and I didn’t have the style down).  However, you’ll see how the cartoon became developed into better drawings (at least in my opinion) and how it become what it is today.  A whole evolution of 5 years.

As for the religious aspect of the comic, it’s supposed to come across as a fun, relatable God – which he totally is.  He’s on Spencer’s level (the six-year-old-character).  I wouldn’t work on a book that is preachy, judgmental or anything of that nature that would shove religion down a persons throat.  When it comes to religion, I don’t care if you worship a piece of coal, are a Buddhist, Atheist, Christian, A Smurf….whatever floats your boat.  I’m actually a pretty liberal person, and this book is just a fun look at little boy and his best friend.  It’s not a preachy book or anything of that nature.  That’s not my style and anyone that knows me knows that I’m very acceptive of anyone.  This is the first religious-based type material I’ve ever worked on.  But, that’s what makes being a cartoonist fun.  Like an actor, I take on many roles.

I describe KOHD as cross between Peanuts, Calvin and Hobbes and Veggie Tales meets Bruce Almighty.  But, that’s just me.  Tommy has a great explanation of the book and Knocking on Heaven’s Door in the book (he is the writer, you know).

At any rate, the book is here  It’s (again) a hardcover and is normally $24.95 – however, my publisher is currently doing pre-sales for $19.95 right now.  And it’s out tomorrow.  You can buy it directly from the publisher HERE.

At some point, I’ll sell an artist edition of the book where I’ll sketch in it and stuff.  However, I don’t know the cost yet for my own personal supply and it might be awhile.  Not sure what I would charge on it, but I’d keep it cheap.  If you DO get a book and send it my way with a self addressed stamp envelope, I’d be happy to sketch in it for you and leave a personal message.  Just email me at nate_fakes@hotmail.com if you get a book and would like to do so.

Hope you enjoy it and there’s a lot coming on the way with Tommy and I.  We have some good stuff on the way….

I’d love to hear what you think of the book after reading it or the cartoon.

Thanks, everyone!

 CLICK HERE TO ORDER

4 Responses to “Knocking On Heaven’s Door Book”

  1. David Hurley July 31, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

    Cool! This is on my “to buy” list Nate…look forward to buying it and reading it.

  2. bearmancartoons August 1, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    Very sweet. One day…one day…

    • w101njf August 1, 2013 at 6:27 am #

      Should be on the top-seller list pretty soon if we can just beat out those damn Fifty Shades books…….

Leave a Reply

