Timing is everything

22 Apr

There were some interesting comments made about yesterday’s cartoon at GoComics.  And there is a reason for it.  With the tragedy in Boston that happened last week, anything Boston related isn’t exactly funny material (well, depending what it is, but you know what I mean).  Unbeknownst to me that anything would happen in Boston when I drew this, I did a comic about….well, just take a look:

bod130421YIKES….bad timing.

Yes, I wish this comic didn’t post.

Obviously, it’s just supposed to be a funny gag.  However, it doesn’t come across that way with all that has happened recently with the bombings.  I do have control over what post on the site, but they’re uploaded about a month in advance, so this one posted as scheduled.  I DIDN’T put it up on the Facebook page like I normally would.  Again, it’s supposed to be a funny joke, but I can definitely see how this would be taken the wrong way.

I would never make light of a bombing and I think most people get that it was just bad timing for this.

Well, moving on.  I just wanted to again clarify that this wasn’t intended to be anything but a silly Break of Day cartoon making fun of cream filling that’s found in donuts.  That’s it.  There’s no insensitive message about anything else.  What happened in Boston makes me sick.  It’s definitely not a laughing matter.  And I hope people didn’t take offense to this cartoon too much, but if they did, well – I think I’ve explained myself here.

Leave a Reply

