Monsters everywhere

8 Apr

Today’s cartoon features monsters.  Here, have a look:

bod130408Above:  Today’s cartoon that features monsters.  (Wait….I think I mentioned that already.)

Monsters have always been a favorite topic of mine.  They’re fun to do a cartoon about as well because I typically just make up my idea of a monster and it passes as one.  A blast to draw.  Also, keeps me from Googling a subject matter, which is commonly the case.

So in case you’re wondering (which you’re probably not) I never grew up thinking there were monsters under my bed – or anywhere.  Nope.  The only things I were scared of were werewolves and dolls.  (Actually, I guess a werewolf could be considered a monster.  And so could a doll, for that matter.)

The werewolves.  Oh, I swear we had one in our basement.

I couldn’t stomach going down there without the lights on.  Why did I think they were there?  Well, thanks to author Stephen King and the movie Silver Bullet.  I saw it as a kid and it scared the bejesus out of me.  Which is pretty surprising because I watched a lot of horror movies as a kid and nothing really scared me about them.  Quite frankly, I just found them rather entertaining.

Luckily, I’m happy to say I was never attacked once by a werewolf in my basement.

But on to dolls….

Yikes!

Don’t worry – I wasn’t attacked by one.  However…

Dolls are scary to a lot of people and to me especially.  My grandmother had a ton of them in her home.  I wasn’t scared of her house, but I did get a little anxious if I was in a room alone with those plastic (or porcelain) things.

No movie or anything made me a bit creeped out around them.  I’m not too sure where it came from.  Maybe those awkward Cabbage Patch Kids did the trick?  Who knows.

Anyhow, the realistic dolls were the worst.

To this day I still think they’re a bit creepy.  I never really found the appeal of them, which is probably kinda normal since I’m a guy.

In general though, I grew up liking scary things.  Some of my favorites were Gremlins, Jason on Friday the 13th and that weirdo from the Psycho movies, Norman Bates.  I was also quite fond of Boo Berries, Count Chocula and Franken Berry – probably because of their delicious cereals.

I’m sure I’ll have plenty more monster cartoons throughout my career.  There are quite a few past ones as well, if you dig around through my work HERE.

What monsters scare(d) you?  Do you have any favorites?

2 Responses to “Monsters everywhere”

  1. David Hurley April 9, 2013 at 6:50 am #

    I’m not much of a horror movie fan, but if I were to pick a scary movie I would lean towards the classic monsters (even if their modern films) Vampires, Werewolves etc. Gremlins and that type of movie I like (I consider those fantasy). I did go through a scary movie phase as a teenager where I would watch all types of horror. One thing I do leave out though is any type of demon movie, I don’t like that kinda stuff at all. But you never know, you might catch me watching one on a weird occasion.

    • w101njf April 9, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      I’m not too big on horror movies either. As a kid I was a lot more than I am now. HOWEVER, I love stuff like The Shining – and several other classics!

Leave a Reply

