Doors tour

6 Apr

images-1

Well, not exactly a new album release tour from the rock band, The Doors, but a different kind.

It’s pretty well known (from anyone that knows me) that I’m a big Doors fan.  At one point I had over 40 Doors albums before downloading replaced a lot of it and I lost them from constantly moving.  But, beyond that, I have a signed Doors record, the Doors movie and much more.  I used to have t-shirts, posters, etc., but like a lot of things, as time went by I lost or got rid of a lot of it.  I think the only thing I didn’t have from the Doors was a box of cereal (if they ever put a box of cereal out).

I was thrilled to learn Jim Morrison (singer) at one point lived right here in Pinellas County – where I do.  But that’s a whole new story.

Anyway…

Ray Manzarek (keyboards) and Robby Krieger (guitarist) have their own website.  One cool spot on their site is a tour (again, not a musical one – although they still go out and play).

This is the kind of thing I like.  It’s a walking tour of the Doors old hangouts, hotspots, studios, etc.

If you go out to L.A., and if you’re a fan of the band, definitely look into this.  I know I would enjoy it and next time I can go on a trip out west, this would be something I’ll certainly try to do myself.

I’ve always liked walking through areas that aren’t museums, but where things have taken place unbeknownst to anyone that didn’t know the inside scoop.  There’s a lot of that around here in St. Petersburg.  I’ve blogged recently about Jack Kerouac‘s old home being basically in my backyard.

Anyway, check it out HERE.   It’s an interesting read regardless if you like Light My Fire or not.

And no, you don’t have to be stoned on acid to appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

