A REAL afternoon

24 Mar

Sunday afternoons.  A time for chilling out, relaxing, going out or faxing. (Wait…I usually don’t fax on Sundays.  In fact, I don’t have a fax machine.  I guess I just put that there because it rhymes.)

My Sunday afternoons are spent in a variety of ways.  During football season – it’s watching football.  During events – it’s going to events. After a long, fun Saturday night – it’s usually staying in taking Aspirin.  Or I read a book.  And I always read the Sunday papers.  See – a variety of things.

I’d say my favorite Sundays are the ones consisting of absolutely NOTHING.

That’s what I’m doing today.  Nothing.  (Well, except writing this.)

I like a day like today when I just lounge on the couch, eat junk food (chicken wings at the moment) and just have a day without a care in the world.  I know tomorrow is when Mr. Responsible comes back and I have a full day.  So, yeah, for now – I’m a lazy bum.

Along with nothing though, I guess I’m doing something….

Today I find myself watching The Real World marathon on MTV.  They’re showing the old shows from 1994.  I’m not currently a fan of the series, but back then I was.  And for those of you who don’t know, the Real World is a show where they put seven strangers into a house, record them for about six months or show and then air everything.  Besides Cops, I’m guessing it was one of the first reality shows.  In fact, it’s not a guess (now that I think about it).  It was (one of the first reality shows).  Even though it’s no Hell’s Kitchen, I’d say – for a reality show – it definitely tops Here Comes Honey Boo-Boo.

It’s just interesting to watch for several reasons.  One is, it makes me feel kind of old.  This was recorded about 20 years ago!  I remember when this was “fresh” and new.  I mean, wow – it made me take a step back.  Crazy.

Also, watching this, it’s really interesting to me about the people at the time.  For example, there’s a scene where they’re all hanging out in a cafe.  And guess what?  NOBODY is sitting around with their head down surfing through their iPhone or texting.  There are several people reading newspapers, but other than that, I notice REAL conversations.  Not the constant technology driven communication but real people actually talking to each other – in person!  Amazing!

And there’s no computer at their home that the ‘seven strangers’ are staying in.  They meet people for lunch and call with a telephone – not text.  There’s an actual effort to reach out to someone.  Heck, I even saw someone using a phone book.

I’m not trying to go on a technology rant.  I mean, hey, I use current tech stuff just as much as anyone (although I am not going on about 2 years without a cell phone).  It’s just, interactions were so different just less than 20 years ago.  It’s really noticeable on these classic Real Worlds.  It does make me think (again) of how we communicate.  Is this an improvement (having all this technology)?

So, this Sunday afternoon, I’m lounging around and watching this.  Again, it’s not so much for the show, but the interesting details I’m noticing about how much times have changed in such a short amount of time.  And now I feel old again.

Anyhow….

Other than that, I have some hot wings to attend to, so I’ll leave you with a somewhat relevant comic.

bod130322Above:  The relevant comic

I hope you are enjoying your lazy Sunday afternoon (or productive afternoon).  And if you’re reading this, it’s probably on a computer or iPad.  Definitely something not available in the current 1994 Real World marathon.

Lucky for them.

Leave a Reply

