And in other news

15 Mar

Sometimes I like to post a bit about what’s going with me and what’s it’s like a day-in-the-life of a cartoonist.  Luckily, I have some things to write about.  Interesting things?  Well, I’m not too sure about that.  But as any reader to Nate’s Ramblings knows, there’s seldom anything interesting here.

Okay, as for my current Kickstarter campaign for a graphic novel I’m trying to produce, Don Giovanni, it’s not going well.  In fact, it’s kind of failing miserably.  I’ve been getting great positive feedback about it, have had good friends post about it and more – but it’s not taking off.  I’ve done press releases and just about everything in my power.  However, there seems to be little interest in it so far.  I’ve got some interviews coming up next week that might put a spark in it.  I’m hoping so because I really want this novel out there.  If all fails, I’ll try for a publisher.  And honestly, I’m not trying  to sound like Tony Robbins here, but I really can’t fail if I learn something.  Obviously, I’m doing a Kickstarter either wrong or – again – there’s just not much interest in the project.  We’ll see.  In the meantime though, while it’s still happening, I’m going to try to really make it happen.  It’s possible considering other projects like mine have made it.  I’m just missing a certain element.  I think a lot of it might have to do with the name ‘Don Giovanni’.  People might be assuming it’s an opera, and who would want to support that?  However, it’s nothing like an opera.  Anyway, that’s really my assumption.  Or it could be the first 7-pages weren’t good to some.  I dunno.  At any rate, I’m still working hard on this Kickstarter until April 5th – when we’ll know if it gets funded or not.

As for other cartooning news….

I’m excited about new clients I’m starting work with and working with already!  Natefakes.org has all the information about it, but I’m doing a lot of custom cartoon work.  I’m excited about a lot of it and enjoy working with everyone.  And I really stand behind my product.  Cartoons are the best way to market things (at least in my opinion) and it’s paying of for customers.  Anyhow, I have some new ones coming aboard and it’s an area that is growing more than anything.  That means more of my little drawings will be popping up in places you wouldn’t expect to see them.  Hopefully not in trash bins.

My work with comedian Tommy Blaze is going well.  A book is coming out soon.  It’s done and done.  We are holding off a bit though to see if we can get some blurbs for it or a good forward.  Not sure if that’s happening or not on first print, but we’ll see.  On top of that, we are looking at other areas of bigger proportions – and there’s some promising stuff (or potential stuff) in the mix.  I’ll keep hush-hush about it all until I know more.  It’s so funny working on this material when it’s about opposite of what I write and draw.  However, it’s paid off and still is.

And also…

I keep submitting MAD Magazine material, Parade Magazine material and to other publishers regularly.  Sometimes things get picked – sometimes they don’t.  Be on the lookout though for my work in MAD and Parade.  I promise, there’s cartoons that were already purchased and should be appearing at any time.

I have an eBay auction as well happening now HERE.

Well, that’s about all for now!  I’ll try to do this ‘And in other news‘ segment more often.  I know when I read blogs, this is the kind of stuff I like to read about (what’s happening).  I also plan on writing about elevator buttons again real soon since that’s still a huge search phrase that leads many to Nate’s Ramblings here.

Hope everyone has a green weekend and doesn’t pass out before noon by drinking green beer.

I leave you with one of my favorite recent ‘toons.

bod130301

 

Leave a Reply

