Work is being done

11 Feb

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated on here.  Another typical excuse of mine is it’s been busy.  But, it really has.  Like, real busy, you know.  So, sorry.  You people that have subscriptions to my updates and post must be thinking your subscription has lapsed.

What have I been doing.  Well, happy to say, I’ve been working.  Working hard on just about everything.

I have a new book that I illustrated for comedian, Tommy Blaze, coming out in a month or so (no exact release date has been determined).  I’ve been working on my new website (www.natefakes.org) stocking it full of hundreds of images I’ve created.  I have also been consistently creating my syndicated series, Break of Day.  AND with all of this I’ve been gearing up for some new clients that I’ll be working for creating cartoons.  So, yes, it’s been busy.  I’ve been doing more than just eating doughnuts.

And I’m about to get busier.

I am gearing up to launch a MAJOR Kickstarter campaign to get my graphic novel published.  It’s something that I’ve been developing for years now and it’s all coming together, so I’m hoping to launch the campaign in several weeks.  Along with launching, I’m hoping it’s successful, because I will be asking for a lot of money (no joke).  The money is basically to pay for a publisher, printing – and more importantly – time.  Yes, this will take hundreds of hours (actually, probably thousands) to complete and at least a year.  I have it estimated at close to 200 pages.  So, it’s a lot to add to my already busy plate.  However, funding for it will allow me to buy groceries as I push-off other projects and work so I can have time to allow myself to do it all.  What’s the graphic novel about?  Tell you what – I’ll let you know as soon as I have my Kickstarter launched.  Deal?  It will make it more fun.  Let me just add though that I’m extremely excited about doing it.  If this one is successful, I have two more that will follow that correspond with it.  You’ll see.

I’ve also been submitting like crazy.  I pitch ideas to Parade Magazine, Reader’s Digest, MAD and more regularly.  Stuff is appearing soon in Parade and MAD, so be on the lookout.

And, when time allows, I try to submit some new greeting cards to my publishers as well.

Whew!

Hey, all this work has got to pay off, right?  I’m gearing up for a great 2013.  I know this year has already started, but I like to think it’s still early in the year.

For a treat for myself and to avoid more gray hairs due to frustration, I ditched my $#%tty PC and have purchased an outstanding MacBook to get my work done on.  My god, why didn’t I buy one of these a decade ago?  I love it and it’s so much more efficient that the old computer I was using.  No bugs, updates and nonsense popping up on my screen regularly.  And, as I mentioned, my frustration level has dropped do an absurd amount compared to before.  I’m amazed I never smashed my old PC into bits after all the cussing and yelling at it I’ve done throughout the years.  It’s lucky to remain in one piece.  I am still in the process of taking stuff out of it, so there’s still a chance I’ll lose it and bash the thing, but for now, it’s alive.

At any rate, I hope this summarizes what I’ve been doing.  You see, I was not joking about the busy things.  I will try – TRY – to write more often though.  I always mention this, but I do like to write.  Why?  I don’t know.  I guess it’s a good excuse to leave the drawing table.  Anyhow, I’ll work on my updates.  If I don’t update regularly, please just send some strongly worded letters to the editor here and demand them (updates).

So, subscribers, don’t drop Nate Ramblings just yet…..

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Work is being done”

  1. Bearman Cartoons February 12, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    I actually don’t like the way macs folders work anymore. It’s not as intuitive as it used to be or as PCs are.

    • w101njf February 12, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      You know, that’s probably the ONLY area I’m struggling with a bit, too. I’m getting better at it, but it seems like there are more unnecessary steps than the PC has (when saving and retrieving stuff). BUT – beyond that – I love the Mac.

Leave a Reply

