George Takei Facebook shares: A retrospective

27 Jan

I know, I know…

You’re probably thinking, “Great.  Another blog post about George Takei sharing his comic on his Facebook page.  Bla, bla, bla.  Is this ALL he can write about?!”  Well, if you’re thinking that, you’re kind of right.  It is about all I can write about recently.  I could write about an unsightly rash I saw on this weirdo at the bus stop if you would like, but I thought I’d continue on with this more pleasant topic.  It’s becoming kind of a series here at Nate Rambling’s.  Not quite as amusing as those long-drawn out Lord of the Ring series, but it’s something.

Anyhow, George Takei has been sharing my comics on his Facebook page – well – a lot.  I’ve written about it HERE, HERE and HERE.

I’m a fan of George.  I appreciate the shares (please keep it up, George!).

It’s now my mission to get a link posted along with the shares, but at any rate, it hasn’t happened yet.  BUT – it’s getting better.  The comics have my name on them, an address for the Facebook page and are clearly mine.  CLEARLY.  Before, nobody really knew who did the work.  Unless you were hanging out with me and I said something like, “Hey!  George Takei just shared my comic!  How about that.”  But a link would be nirvana.  How about one to either natefakes.org, facebook.com/breakofdaycomic or – if anything else – gocomics.com/break-of-day.  I prefer the Facebook link.  Fans become fans from that stuff.

So, I’m getting my name out there.  Just not a link.

As I mentioned though, I am appreciative.

And it’s funny because now instead of being a cartoonist for MAD Magazine, Parade Magazine and greeting cards, I’m known mostly for being a regular on George’s page.  I think I’ve had more exposure from that than anything else.  Oh myyyy, how times have changed.

Now, these comics have gone pretty viral.  If I got a penny for every time one of them was shared, liked or looked at, I’d probably have, um,  a lot of pennies.  But for now, I just have the occasional pennies underneath my couch cushion.  Still though, I’m proud of that (being viral).  I’m happy when they’re shared and it’s great for my clients and publishers see it so I can have some sort of reputation as a “well known” cartoonist.  Even if they know my name or not, a lot of people have probably seen some of my ‘toons from somewhere (at least I like to think so).  And so I’ve capitalized that (being the opportunist that I am).  That’s one of the first things I mention at my website over at http://www.natefakes.org.  Hey, why not?  I hope I’m not coming across as bragging, but I’m just being honest.  My stuff is out there, so I hope perspective (and current) clients take note.

Anyway, what’s the point I’m getting at?

Well, not much of one.  I thought it would be interesting though to show a little bit of the stats on my last four ‘viral’ comics shared by Mr. Takei.  The numbers are kind of interesting.  Some are MUCH more popular than others and some have made-the-rounds a bit more than others as well.  I’m guessing part of the reason for the different numbers depends on the time of the day when they were posted, unforeseen events and the topic in general.  But here, take a look:

(NOTE:  All the “Likes” and “Shares” are where they are at at about noon EST on 1/27/13.  They change a bit.  Obviously.)

Vulgar Language GTAugust 3rd, 2012

55,162 “Likes”

22, 177 “Shares”

516 comments

Undeveloped Country GT

January 8th, 2013

52,334 “Likes”

38,411 “Shares”

740 comments

Baseball GT

January 20th, 2013

25,252 “Likes”

5,805 “Shares”

328 comments

Atheist Praying Mantis GT

January 26th, 2013

132,082 “Likes”

14,936 “Shares”

5,045 comments

Sooo….

What does all of this tell me?  Again, not much.  But it’s pretty cool seeing how far reaching some of these go compared to others.  And here’s some of the stats and notes on it all.

– Obviously, the LEAST popular one was the baseball/window comic.  It came in with a pathetic amount of likes compared to the MOST popular Atheist Mantis comic.

–  The MOST shared comic was the Undeveloped Country one.  The LEAST shared was the baseball/window one.

–  The MOST commented one was the Mantis one.  The LEAST was – again in last place – the baseball/window one.

On a side not, the most interesting comments (in my opinion) are all through the Mantis ‘toon.  Read them when you get a chance.  It sparked a mini-religious war in some areas, which I find funny.  I mean, honestly, it’s a cartoon.  Praying mantis cartoon.  Anyhow, most people call out the trolls on it.  Fun stuff.

And there you have it – a side-by-side comparison.  I just wanted to take note of them for my own curiosity sake.  I don’t think the numbers mean too much, but interesting.  It makes me think of other cartoons that might be significant in this viral world.

So again, sorry for writing about this topic again.  I swear I’ll write about something else here soon.  In fact, there’s a lot of things to write about, but since this is kinda timely, I wanted to post this.  Please continue reading my garbage on here, er, RAMBLINGS and I may get to something of interest at some point.

In the meantime, George, if you are reading, thank you again for sharing my cartoons!  I appreciate it and glad you enjoy them and hope there are many, many more that you will enjoy and share.  If you would like to talk about a link along with the comics sometime, please let me know.   I will keep pushing for one in the meantime and probably cheer loudly if and when you do (post a link).

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Nate Fakes (aka – cartoonist)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

