And another one…

21 Jan

I’m starting to get used to this.

George Takei just shared another Break of Day cartoon on his Facebook page for his fans.  The third time he has done this.  And, this is the 3rd post here on Nate Ramblings about it happening, by the way (what a coincident).

The past several post, I mentioned that there was no link and my copyright information was hard to read.  THIS TIME, my comic had clearly on the top ‘Break of Day’ followed by ‘Nate Fakes’.  AND at the bottom of the comic I had the information for Break of Day’s Facebook page.  “Sweet”, I thought.  “People will FINALLY know who drew some of these!”.

I thought the phone was going to ring of the hook.  Hundreds of emails.  Complete anarchy.

Well…..

Again, it didn’t really do much.  Cool?  Yes, it is.  George has 3.3 million fans and it’s fun to watch a cartoon circle around the interweb like crazy.  But what did it do?

I got about 25 new fans on my Facebook page and – well – that’s about it.

So, my next goal is this:  George supplies a link to my work.

Yes, a simple link.  I think that might – just might – do more.  And what do I want it to do more of?  Well, for now (until my new portfolio site is up and running) just more fans on Facebook.  That way when there’s books, art or other stuff, I’ll have people that know about it.  I’d love to surpass 1,000 fans on that page at some point (currently I’m at about 840).  And for the life of me, I have no clue how to make the page more popular.  I post daily content, write back to people and everything, but it doesn’t seem to grow.  With even the information about the link on the comic, it didn’t create the buzz I was hoping.

So, maybe a link might do?

Regardless, getting my name out there as much as possible is never a bad thing (unless it’s in the crime report).  I’m always happy when he shares a comic and I was ecstatic to see that at least my name was on this last one (along with the name of my feature and the Facebook address).

I think the link is coming.  I hope.  I even wrote him a nice email, so we’ll see.

So, can you hear me,  George (actually, I’m guessing it would be ‘read me’)?  I’d love a link.  Besides, I heard every time there’s a link on a Facebook page for Break of Day, an angel gets its wings.

Here’s the comic that was posted yesterday:

Baseball Window Copy 2

6 Responses to “And another one…”

  1. gardenfreshtomatoes January 22, 2013 at 4:54 am #

    Totally cool, Nate. If you don’t hear back, try tweeting him directly. When you thank him on twitter, use @GeorgeTakei, rather than just his name. It’ll get noticed…

    • w101njf January 22, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      I’ll do that. I did mention him on Twitter, but not sure if he saw it or not?

  2. bearmancartoons January 22, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    I have coined a new term “Takei” It is when you share someone else’s work without attribution.

    • w101njf January 22, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      I knew I heard that term from somewhere!

  3. Sandra January 22, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    Congrats! I was excited to see it, too!

Leave a Reply

