Thanks, George

10 Jan

Tuesday, again, another Break of Day comic was shared by Mr. George Takei on Facebook; drawing in thousands of “likes”, “shares” and comments.  It even made it far enough that I noticed my favorite MLB team, the Tampa Bay Rays, shared it on their homepage as well.  The thing reached millions making another viral comic.

Here was the cartoon:

bod130108

I’m so happy and thrilled that many people were able to enjoy my work.  Trust me – I’m not complaining.  BUT – again – there was no link to Break of Day’s Facebook page and my copyright info is a bit hard to read.  So, what it boils down to, is though it had great exposure, really – nothing more came out of it.  If there was only a link, I would have many more fans able to enjoy Break of Day, but oh well…..

I just wonder how many people are wondering where it came from.  And if you Google N. Fakes’ (the most legible words on the comic)  – you’ll find me – after rummaging through tons of other non-related stuff.

But anyhow, pretty cool regardless.  Again, it’s just neat to have a comic with that much exposure and glad the social media world had a chance to enjoy it.

Still, can’t help but think what it would have been with a link (pulling out hair).  Probably endorsement deals from NikonPepsi?  Well, probably not.  But if anything, maybe I would have gotten two more readers here at Nate’s Ramblings.

At any rate, thanks, George!

11 Responses to “Thanks, George”

  1. bearmancartoons January 10, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    One…start signing your name with Nate.
    Two make your copyright bigger.

    • w101njf January 10, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

      I’ve been contemplating doing that recently. It’s just I’ve coined the whole ‘N. Fakes’ thing for so long, it would be weird. But yes, this day and age, I’m about to that point.

      I don’t like the copyright TOO big, because then it interferes with the image. But again, it might be necessary.

      Arrrghhh! If only he posted a link…..

      • bearmancartoons January 10, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

        One…no one calls you N Fakes. They call you Nate Fakes.

        I heard you…maybe change the color to a lighter one when you have a darker background.

  2. lisleman January 10, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    Now I don’t have the type of following that George does but I also enjoyed your cartoon enough to post it on my blog, A Few Clowns Short. However I told the readers that you created it and I found it on G+. I also put your web site link in my post. Bearman (a regular follower) came by and noticed I knew how to give attribution. Since I noticed you offer pinterest pinning I figured I could pin it and post it. I always try to give credit.
    thanks for the funny cartoon.

    • w101njf January 11, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you for doing that and I’m glad you enjoy the cartoons! There’s no rule behind things and yes – when I post them on Pinterest, Facebook, etc., one can only assume they would be shared and may not have a link. However, if a link is available (which I put next to my copyright on all my cartoons) then I think it’s always a plus to put that with the material. At any rate – it’s not a huge deal. I’m still happy to have things shared.

  3. Sandra January 13, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Congrats! And ugh, how frustrating. Obviously a larger sigline with a www addressed on the cartoon. 🙂

    • w101njf January 14, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks! And as of Friday, I’ve decided to sign my full name. Just in case this happens again at least people might get a good idea of who the heck I might be.

      • Sandra January 14, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

        Indeed! And congratulations again!! U. R. Awesome!!!

  4. miss pooslie March 26, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    what IS the link to this original comic?

    • w101njf March 27, 2014 at 4:31 am #

      The comic itself was posted on my syndicates site at http://www.gocomics.com/break-of-day, newspapers and Facebook. Not too sure when it was originally published. I posted this particular one on my Facebook page though. So, any link back to the source is fine – even if it’s not to the ACTUAL comic.

      • miss pooslie March 27, 2014 at 7:15 am #

        perfect! I saw it on memebase but always want to link to original source but this works! 🙂

Leave a Reply

