Alot of blogging

6 Jan

I really need to start blogging more.  Not for readers, not to promote things – nothing like that.  Why then?

Typos.

In this era of Facebook, Twitter and the instant message, I notice my typing skills diminishing rapidly.  I catch myself making constant typos on just about everything.  And I think it’s because recently most of my writing HAS been on Facebook, Twitter and instant messages.  You know – the stuff that requires no literary skills (not that writing a blog requires and literary skills, but you know).

I think the horrible grammar and misspellings that are scattered throughout this digital world has seeped into my own writing.  Not that I’ve ever been great at grammar and spelling, but my gosh, I’m getting worse!

Even in several of my comics I’ve had some misspellings.  I did a post about grammar in one of my cartoons recently – and that I didn’t care about it.  I didn’t (care).  Not in the comic world.  Misspellings though are rather embarrassing.  Where’s my editor?

I’m guessing typing errors will get worse across the board with everyone as time goes on.  After all, how accurate can you be when typing with just your index finger?  Plus, any influential people that kids look up to on Facebook that put up a message like “Yo, its alot of work bein me.  Lol”  (I just used this example from someone like a Justin Bieber might say) I’m sure they’ll partake in the same lingo either consciously or subconsciously.

Now, I’m not trying to be a Grammar Nazi or English Major (they are the worse – or worst – what one is it?) but I hope I can at least be somewhat proficient with my spelling and words.

So, again, I think maybe writing more often will help.  At least I hope so.  It’s getting out of the social media world and hopefully typing something that doesn’t require a smiley face at the end of the sentence to fit in .  : )

I guess if you start reading these blogs alot and notic tons of errors, I’ve fully slipped into da abyss of typos.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Alot of blogging”

  1. gardenfreshtomatoes January 7, 2013 at 4:48 am #

    That was painful.

    • w101njf January 7, 2013 at 6:01 am #

      Sorry. I have a first-aid kit somewhere around this blog

      • bearmancartoons January 7, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

        I’m all over looking for your typos now

Leave a Reply

