Shouldn’t of Cared

21 Dec

Sometimes, comics I do strike up a conversation that I never even imagined would come from it.

Yesterday’s Break of Day cartoon featured a worm having a birthday party.  Little did I know, a silly cartoon would inform me of all its “errors” by readers.

Can you spot them?  Here’s yesterday’s cartoon:

bod121220Above:  Yesterday’s cartoon.  Wormy’s birthday was apparently full of controversy.

So, this being a funny comic to me, I expected to maybe hear some reactions to it like “Haha”, “Lol” or “Poor Wormy”.  Instead, most of the comments were people pointing out my “errors” (I put that in quotations because I don’t consider them errors.)  Again, do you see anything wrong?

Okay, the first part is the grammar in the speech balloon.  I guess it’s supposed to be ‘shouldn’t have‘ instead of ‘shouldn’t of’.

This type of “error” seems to have sparked an outpouring of letting me know that I had one.  Ever see the move Office Space where the guy gets the memo by, like, ten people, about paper work?  Okay, that was kinda like the comment page at GoComics for this cartoon.

Listen, when I write these, I go off the voices in my head.  (No, I don’t have creepy voices in my head in the weird way, but you know, thoughts and stuff.)  However I would say/speak something is typically how I write them in Break of Day.  In my daily life, I speak with people constantly, and I guarantee I’ve said ‘shouldn’t of’ numerous times – and have never been corrected.  Big deal.  Is this really a big deal?  Maybe I should know better, but again – is this a big deal?

They are cartoon worms.  It’s a comic.  Sheesh.  You ever try listening to Porky Pig?  His grammar is a bit off too and I don’t hear about that ever and he’s a cartoon.

Anyhow, moving on, I was pointed to the fact that the worms were apparently talking through their rears – not their heads.  So, this is a design flaw on my point, I guess.

My research on these cartoons are at a bare minimum because my hope is people don’t look that much into them.  The whole point of Break of Day is to get a quick laugh and move on.  That’s it.

However, I am made aware of every flaw, typo, error, etc. thanks to the powers of the internet.  Which, is a good thing.  And it actually makes me laugh that people get so into correcting me.  And I can’t tell if they’re joking or if they’re trying to say, “Ha!  You’ve been schooled!”  At any rate, it’s nice to know people are paying attention and reading it and looking at the picture.

As always, I’ll say that I love the comments and all my readers.  I don’t want to scare anyone away from commenting, but really, is it such a big deal to have a grammatical flaw and a worm that isn’t anatomically accurate?  In a cartoon?  Really?

I wouldn’t change a thing with this cartoon.  I make no apologies.  And if anything, it makes for a good conversation piece in the comment section.

Besides, what isn’t funny about a worm talking out of its butt?

Happy birthday, Wormy!

6 Responses to “Shouldn’t of Cared”

  1. bearmancartoons December 21, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    You are just lazy…admit it.

    • w101njf December 21, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      I know….I know…..

  2. Bo Lumpkin December 26, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    Don’t worry about it Nate. Politicians talk out of their butt all the time.

    • w101njf January 6, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Very true. Probably why I’m not in politics.

      • Bo Lumpkin January 6, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

        Me too. People don’t even understand what I say out of my mouth most of the time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alot of blogging « Nate's Ramblings - January 6, 2013

    […] in several of my comics I’ve had some misspellings.  I did a post about grammar in one of my cartoons recently – and that I didn’t care about it.  I […]

Leave a Reply

