Tattoo yourself

5 Dec

I don’t have any tattoos.  In fact, I don’t really have much interest in getting one ever.  I have always thought to myself and told people that if there was a tattoo that was so cool I could look at it everyday of the rest of my life and enjoy it – I might consider one.  So far, such a tattoo has not come to mind.

That being said, I’ve really been into the art of tattooing recently.

I started watching Ink Master on Spike TV several months ago.

Ink Master

Above:  A logo for Ink Master or else it’s three guys about to be ran over by giant words.

You know, it’s a really good show.  It’s not really about the tattoos themselves, but every other aspect of design and stuff that goes into them instead (like shading, depth, etc.).

These competitors rattle my brain on how they create such art on the human skin.  Also, some of the competitions involve just plain drawing, ingraining, engraving, painting cars – all kinds of stuff.  And typically, the competitors pull-it off pretty well.  More than I can do.

And plus the whole profession itself is interesting.  I mean, this is art that if the artist screws up, they’ll have one pissed off customer because it’s permanently embedded on their skin.  I’ve yet to see one of them screw up and put a My Little Pony tramp-stamp on some biker dude (although, that could be slightly amusing).

How is that for pressure?  Typically, when I screw up a piece of art or illustration, I just get out the handy-dandy White-Out or even easier – use Photoshop.

Anyway, I don’t know any tattoo artist.  I know people with tattoos, but artist?  Nope.  I wish I did and hope to meet one one day.  I’d like to pick his/her brain for awhile.  I’m guessing there are some good stories to share.

Also, it’s got to be a demanding job.  And I don’t think the pay is that great, but I could be wrong.

So, until I figure out that ultimate tattoo that I would consider for myself, I’ll relish looking at the art on others.  And I’ll probably keep watching Ink Master.

In the meantime, I’ll just draw on my arm with a permanent marker.  Or do it to someone else who passes out first at a party.

For now, I’ll leave you with several of my tattoo comics.

2011-09-17 2011-12-08 bod121130

Leave a Reply

