Poo drew this?

13 Nov

Once again, I seem to have irritated anyone that things potty humor is immature, awful or outright disgusting.

My Break of Day cartoon from this past Sunday garnished some mixed reviews it seems.  Several comments led me to believe that they will stop reading if one more like this shows up.  Honestly though, most people seemed to enjoy it.

Here is ‘the awful’ cartoon:

I like it.

Despite apologies to cartoonist, Dan Reynolds (he had a similar comic I wasn’t aware of) I think it turned out great.  (Again, I refer people typically to THIS POST on when a comic I do has been done before or something – but he had a very similar cartoon and I really respect Dan’s work and didn’t intend to do such a similar one.)

Listen, again, I make no apologies about my cartoons (well, except to Dan).  I draw what I laugh and at think is funny.  Take it or leave it.  Of course I appreciate all readers, but the only way a cartoonist can do what he does is by creating stuff that works for him/her.  In my case, typically if I laugh, I put it out there.  Easy as that.

I mean really, is this that bad?

I just find it amusing that this light-hearted cartoon about a drive-poo is so awful to some, however, it’s rather tame compared to – oh- the local news, for example.  Yet, it can rouse up some people to the point of cancelling their subscription to Break of Day or stop reading.  I mean, I didn’t show them eating the number two, did I?

Let me add that I love feedback.  I really do try to keep things tame enough so that readers enjoy it as well.  Obviously, I try to keep consistency in my feature and hope that it is enjoyed.  But, anyone that knows me, knows I tend to throw a curve ball out there once in awhile.  I draw and write stuff for MAD Magazine for Pete’s sake!  Now THAT stuff is, well, read for yourself (by the way, I’m not too sure who Pete is).

Anyway, this was my “mixed reviewed cartoon of the week”.  We’ll see if another one tops the list.  The week isn’t over, so you never know!  I might have a moo goo gai pan comic that could beat this one out.

6 Responses to “Poo drew this?”

  1. bearmancartoons November 13, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    2 people aren’t much to worry about…unless you have 4 subscribers..haha

    I get what Dan is saying but ideas/jokes are hardly ever original. It is how you portray the idea that is original which I don’t think yours and Dan’s are the same.

    • w101njf November 14, 2012 at 8:09 am #

      I still agree that in music, film, COMICS – there’s always going to be a rendition of something that’s done before. There’s no escaping it. But, I do try….

  2. Dennis November 13, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    This toon really made me laugh. Maybe my mind is not where it should be, but I it was truly a lol moment for me.

    • w101njf November 14, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Don’t worry about it. My mind goes where it shouldn’t be all the time! Glad you ‘LOL’ at it.

  3. gardenfreshtomatoes November 14, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    I thought it was funny, in a ‘groaner’ kind of way…
    Offensive? Those people are WAY too sensitive…
    But, if it gets people talking, is it really bad? 🙂

    • w101njf November 14, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      It is kinda a groaner. But offensive, yes, I’m not sure how it can be. And any kind of chatter I suppose is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

