KOHD coming soon…

22 Oct

I really have an interesting time in my perspective career.  I would compare my working ethic of that of an actor.  Why?  Well, I take certain roles.  I have my somewhat risque parts with my greeting cards, just like an actor being in a PG-13 movie or R.  Then I have my work with my syndicated series, Break of Day – which in contrast to my religious based cartoon with comedian Tommy Blaze – is the opposite spectrum.  The the lighter side of me comes out with my pet illustrations.  And with all this, I’m working on a graphic novel that is very, well, different than all this.  Completely different roles.  Kind of like parts a Tom Hanks might take.

It’s a good thing.  When one area of my work isn’t doing great, another part of it might do well.  Hey, I’ll take it.  And god knows if syndication will ever pick up.  Plus, it leaves me a good excuse to use my drawing table.

So, that brings me back to my role as illustrator of Knocking on Heavens Door.  Tommy Blaze and I started working on this years ago (2008, to be exact).  I took on the project with him because I could see its potential.  There’s was already an audience for it and so-forth.  And my style seemed to fit in with what Tommy was trying to accomplish with the feature.  So, eh, why not.

Now….years later, I’m happy to say we have a publisher and our book is going to be released soon.

We have roughly 200 some comics and other illustrations.  Our mockup is done, and it’s pretty cool.  I’m just happy to have a publisher though and I can just focus on the material and not do the legwork involved of self-publication or doing it all myself.  I’m pretty lousy at that stuff.

At any rate, I think it’s going to be great.   I’ll keep you all informed of release dates, cost, etc.  I know it will be out in bookstores, Kindle, iTunes and they’re putting up a website for it as well.  None of this is out yet, but again, you know I’ll keep you all informed.

If you’re not familiar with the comic, it’s about six year old Spencer and his best friend, who just happens to be – well – you decide.  Don’t worry – we’re not preachy.  In fact, it seemed as though a lot of non-religious people really enjoyed it more than anyone.  It’s all written by comedian Tommy Blaze.  I am just the illustrator.

Anyway, it’s an interesting role for me for sure.  I guess this would be comparative to Charlton Heston starring in the Ten Commandments.  I’m taking on a similar thing – except in print and drawn with ink.

Plus, I’m no Charlton Heston.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “KOHD coming soon…”

  1. bearmancartoons October 22, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    …unless you have a gun

    • w101njf October 23, 2012 at 6:53 am #

      Well, that’s true. And I don’t have a gun, so yea, I can’t pull off his role

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes October 23, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    Really cool, Nate…

    • w101njf October 23, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      Thank you! I’m excited about it.

Leave a Reply

