The Frustrated Cartoonist: Halloween Edition

15 Oct

Forgive me, because I forget the date, but I believe it was in autumn of 2009 when I drew these up.  At that point in time, I was still drawing my Frustrated Cartoonist series; a series where I had reader polls to determine the outcome.  Also, around this time, I decided to end the series.  Listen, there was obviously no money in it (which is fine, but a person like me has to pick his battles on what to devote time toward) and it became very overwhelming coming up with new material ‘on-the-spot’.  I had fun doing it, but as I mentioned, it just became too much when I had regular work to do.  Poor excuses – just like I have when I don’t post here regularly.

Anyway…

Flipping through my old computer files today while working on a new upcoming project, I found some of the old Frustrated material.  It’s just sitting in my laptop collecting dust, so I thought I should pull them out since it’s about Halloween time and it’s been several years.

I must warn you, these are a bit bloody and gruesome.  However, if you’ve been watching The Walking Dead, I’d consider these rather tame.

And to give you a quick synopsis of the premise, here it is:

I started the series about a frustrated cartoonist named Jim.  Jim had a girlfriend, day job, etc. like a normal, struggling artist.  As time went on, the series ventured away from cartooning topics and went more toward everyday weirdness.  Finally, me (Nate Fakes) got bored with the subjects and strip so I decided to draw myself in it.  As I did that, I became very controlling and quite abusive toward my characters.  And in the end, I let readers decide the outcome of the comic by having a ‘readers poll’ in which the premise would be determined by votes on certain options.  Finally, when I wanted to end the strip completely, well, it got rather violent.

So, here is my little Halloween series from, um, autumn of 09 or 08.  Not quite sure.  My memory hasn’t served me well.  What was I writing about?

Click Image for Bigger View

Sorry, but I must be missing some.  It skips to these….

4 Responses to “The Frustrated Cartoonist: Halloween Edition”

  1. bearmancartoons October 16, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I miss that guy..haha

    • w101njf October 17, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      Well…..he is one of the few survivors!

  2. Dennis October 17, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    He’s a character. I miss him too.

    • w101njf October 17, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      I’m guessing he’ll resurface here on Ramblings in the future (in the form of a rerun, of course).

Leave a Reply

