Restructuring Central

10 Oct

As a cartoonist, I have a lot of avenues of work (if I’m lucky).  I do things like make greeting cards, provide comics for online and print and drawing on napkins.  My newest endeavor recently has been, as many of you know, my Cartoon Your Pets.  Those pet illustrations you see on here?  Yeah, that’s where they’re from.

Well, I’ve made a few adjustments.

Listen, Cartoon Your Pets wasn’t cutting it.  For one, I rarely do any actual cartoons.  Mostly, it’s illustrations.  So, the name just wasn’t working.  And sometimes if you remove a name from something and replace it, it can get better.  At least I like to think so.  Have you ever watched Bar Rescue?  They change the name of the bar, and then whammo! – instant success (or close to it)!

That being said, Cartoon Your Pets is now Nate Fakes Pet Illustrations and Cartoons.  Same web address (www.cartoonyourpets.com), but also a NEWER address as well (www.illustrateyourpet.com).

I want to really get busy from now until the holidays – and then some, and honestly, my sales have been a bit lackluster.  If I were a lemonade stand, I would’ve shut down by now.  However, I have a lot of faith in this project of mine.  Every customer I’ve had thus far has been more than satisfied (well, at least by what I can gather) so I’m pleased.  Also, I’ve done zero advertising.  I’m relying on word-of-mouth, shelters and public appearances (which I have several lined up this month).  With all this though, I don’t think  – in fact – I know there’s a lot of people that have no idea I exist.

I think the coolest feature I’ve added to all this as well is a LIVE donation tracker.  It shows the amount of money and to what shelter it goes to.  Because, again, as many of you know – I donate 20% of the profits to an animal shelter of your choice.  So, it will be fun to watch this go up and see what shelter is bringing in the most bread.  Also, customers can watch their funds being used as well (although I don’t put down the item or customer name to keep it somewhat simple).

So listen, I’m not trying to make a sales pitch here, but I would like it if you would check out the site, offer any feedback and stay for awhile.  You might enjoy yourself, or – like some art museums – get bored and leave.  I’d just like to you take a look around and if you or someone you knows would enjoy an illustration or cartoon, well I might have exactly that!  Or not.  Anyway, I try not to “promote” my work on here too much for money, so I hope you will forgive me.  And like I say, I’d just like you to have a look and offer any feedback.

OH – there’s a BLOG over there, too!  Although, I’m a bit more professional and tame on this one.  I figure I should watch my mouth there more.

So, hope you enjoy.  Thank you in advance for stopping in.  I will be posting other goodies here soon.  I still have a lot of stuff I want to get to on Ramblings here shortly beyond shameless self-promotion.

You can check out all that has been mentioned HERE.

2 Responses to “Restructuring Central”

  1. Bearman Cartoons October 10, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    You are tame?

    • w101njf October 10, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      But….of course! : )

Leave a Reply

