Like retail, this upcoming holiday season looks to be busy

13 Sep

Why do I jinx myself with a title like that (sigh).

Okay, as a firm believer that jinxing doesn’t exist, I guess I’ll continue on.  At any rate, I’m hoping and thinking it might be a pretty busy season ahead of me.  I’m already getting Christmas orders in for Cartoon Your Pets, I have an upcoming art show/sale in October and have several books in the works.  All that combined with several trips out of town – it’s looking like a busy time.

And thank god it is.  I need it.

I’ve said it before, but illustrating and cartooning is like car sales for me.  Unlike some lucky colleagues of mine in this profession, I don’t have consistent income.  It comes in spurts or not at all.  Kinda like that Corvette shopper.

I’ve actually even looked for a part time job that would go along with my career (you know, just something simple about 20 hours a week) to help supplement my income.  Nobody seems to want to hire me though because they know my main work is cartooning.  I guess I’m too honest because at every interview I always mention that I am a full time cartoonist, so they probably assume I wouldn’t give a damn about the desired position, hence I end up in the ‘no hire’ pile.  Or they just don’t like my hair.

So, I’ve strayed from that and have focused on my work instead.

I’m trying to figure out a way to stay consistent.  I have consistency with my newspaper comics and online, but I need more.  I think it will come – in time – when I get those clients that need something consistently.  MAD Magazine does, but I’m not always lucky enough to land something in every issue.  I’d like a company or business that always needs fliers, posters, etc. Or if I could work for Tupac, who comes out with new albums consistently even though he’s deceased.  Let me do the album cover art every time and I’d be set.

My pet illustrations are picking up a lot of momentum – and that’s an area that is staying consistent, but not on a totally regular basis.  It’s like I’ll get gobs one week – nothing the next.  Or, I’ll have a nice stretch.  Ideally, I’d like 5-8 new customers a week from it.  And honestly, I believe it will hit that mark soon.  It’s just no way of spacing out customers, you know.  I wouldn’t want to, or would I, turn away a Cartoon Your Pets customer (well, probably not).  I do mention in the terms of service though that if it got ridiculously out of control, there could be a lengthier period for your illustration.  I hope it gets to that point!  With my upcoming art show, fingers crossed.  I can’t wait to mingle and hopefully create plenty of new illustrations for happy customers and pets.

I’m dipping my toes into children’s books now as well.  I’m planning on creating a REAL portfolio site that is much better than my current one(s) to help maybe get an agent and start that end of illustration up.  Boy do I need a new portfolio site though.  I look at others and mine just, I don’t know, is pretty lackluster compared to many other professionals.  Probably why an agent hasn’t called yet.  (Although to be fair, I haven’t ‘pitched myself’ to too many agents as of yet.  I’m waiting for that elaborate site that I mentioned.  Also, my phone hasn’t been working properly the past week.)

So, ho-ho-ho!  Is that Santa I hear?  Well, instead of toys, I’m hoping he brings some new customers/clients my way this season.  It’s been a good month so far and I am hoping business builds incredibly over the course of the next three months (and stays that way after the holidays, too).

Let’s just hope I didn’t jinx it.  Oh, wait.  I don’t believe in that stuff!  Luckily, I believe in Santa.  Who else would’ve ate my cookies last year?  (Well, I do enjoy cookies.)

4 Responses to “Like retail, this upcoming holiday season looks to be busy”

  1. bearmancartoons September 13, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I just sent in my Christmas cards to be printed…..much cheaper to get them in Sept.

    • w101njf September 14, 2012 at 3:57 am #

      I need to get on that as well.

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes September 14, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    You are too superstitious, don’t kid youself…the most logical people I know still harbor some of those fears. The question is, what to do to rectify your transgerssion? What sacrifice? And to whom – the Cartooning Gods, or the Muses themselves…or Whoever Is In Charge Of Customers Around Here….
    Glad business is picking up. 🙂

    • w101njf September 18, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Thanks! I’m trying to defeat that jinx thing and try to not believe in it. However, gnomes often get in my way!

Leave a Reply

