Break of Day: Greatest Hits

10 Sep

Considering I’m not a musician nor do I have a band with any songs out, there will be no music here.  However, I thought I would treat this post as kind of my own personal Greatest Hits album – except with comics.  So, it’s just one-big switcheroo.  See how I did that?  Clever?  (Sigh)  Okay, not really (clever).

My work, Break of Day, has been in newspapers since May 2nd of 2011 and syndicated online since August 28th 2011. With that amount of time, I’ve compiled quite a bit of material.  Some good, some bad and some ugly.  Some was probably a bit stinky, too.

If a band put together a Greatest Hits album, it would have – what – like 12 songs or so?  Something like that.  So, I’ll limit these to about that number (I probably won’t actually count when I do this, so bear with me).  What ones shined?  Well, there were a few.  And since I can’t exactly polish a comic with some gleaming wax, I’m just judging this whole thing by my personal thoughts and reflections on them.  I also threw in a little measurement of reader reactions and a dash of statistics by sharing (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) and such too to help me decide what comics to include here.

And I won’t put these in any particular order.  Particular orders are boring.

Here we go!

1.

This Rusty comic was the debut comic for the newspaper and online.  I think it kind of sets the tone for Break of Day.  Stuff with a twist, not always normal and some interesting thoughts behind it.  Rusty has not made an appearance since this comic, and none of us are too certain if he ever caught his tail and then killed it.

2.

I’m not sure why this one is so appealing to me but it is.  I guess I like the fact that – again – it’s a bit out of the ordinary and it could actually happen.  Hope they signed a prenup.

3.

This naked penguin has always been my favorite character I’ve drawn.  He became quite popular when Break of Day debuted in the newspaper.  The debut was May 2nd – the same day Osama Bin Laden was killed.  So, our little naked friend here appeared on the front page of the newspaper along with Osama.  It kind of (well, in my eyes) looks like they’re talking about ‘getting’ the naked penguin instead of the terrorist.  Here’s a look at the front page below.

4.

People seem to absolutely love this one or they’re meh about it.  Really, there’s no joke behind this.  I just think that animals in cages have to get bored.  I mean, don’t they?  So, if there’s any weekend entertainment going on at all in a hamster cage, I’m sure it might be something like this.  Let’s just hope the water isn’t especially strong.

5.

I drew this one years ago.  However, I think  it’s one of my favorites (notice I said think…I’m not a 100% sure, I guess).  Yes, there have since (or possibly before – not too sure) jokes with cows eating a hamburger, pig enjoying bacon or similar material.  But, I think this adds kind of a neat element to all that.  And actually, it makes you think if that’s their relative or close friend walking past them as a boot.   Hmm…?  Disturbing.

6.

Another smoking cartoon.  No, I have nothing against smokers.  But it’s questionable to what this monkey is smoking.

7.

I think the funny thing about this one is the dramatics of it all.  And plus the fact that lightning would probably ruin an electronic device like a Kindle.

8.

This cartoon came out on Easter.  Again, this is one where I could imagine what hens really do think about our tradition of painting their eggs fancy colors and hiding them.  I’m not sure how deep of thoughts hens have, but I would imagine they would probably think we humans are awfully weird.  And if they’ve had enough of us taking advantage of their eggs – well – they just might come to collect.

9.

Of course.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to grow up big, red, glass and hard to pour?

10.

This was my first ‘viral’ comic (as I like to call it).  It’s amazing the power of social networking to get your work noticed.  I’ve had more people mention to me that they’ve seen this almost everywhere.  Even publishers, when I pitch material to them, respond to me that they know my work well from social media.  I’ve been told that now a couple of times.  Incredible.  It’s just too bad I don’t get a penny for every time one of my cartoons are viewed online.  I could easily afford a box of donuts if that happened.  At any rate, I now coin myself King of Social Media Cartoons.  Why not?  I’ll just go with that for awhile.

11.

I know…I know.  This is like pun after pun after pun.  But, I like it.  Something about it just…well, let’s just say ‘pops’.

12.

This one is probably familiar to you.  Last August, I wrote about how George Takei shared this comic in front of his millions of fans.  To this day, I notice this getting posted and re-posted, shared, etc.  The only regret I have is that George didn’t provide a link to my work (sigh).  (And technically that’s not a regret because I had nothing to do with him sharing it.)  That would’ve helped me out a bit, because my italics on the bottom with my copyright and such are hard to read.  So, millions of people just see this comic and don’t think about finding more Break of Day stuff.  If I had it to do over again (or if I knew he was going to share it), I would’ve had a HUGE Facebook text below – or above it – making it clear that I have more material out there.  Oh well…

13.

It’s probably because I used to take a lot of Greyhound buses back in the day to why I like this one.  I think this would make a nice alternative option for those that like to yap on their trips.

14.

This was another one I did several years ago, but I still find funny.  I’m not sure if it’s their expressions or the gag, but this one is a fave.  Besides, maybe some of these “lady bugs” – as they like to call themselves – are doing this.

Well, that’s the Greatest Hits.  Don’t worry:  I’m working on a follow-up album here in the near future.  If anything, I can promise that it’ll be just a tad more catchy than those annoying Backstreet Boys albums (actually, are they still around?).

Thanks for stopping by.  And remember, you can read Break of Day daily FOR FREE HERE.  Just sign up and they’ll email them to you daily.  No spam (unless you consider some of my comics that).

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Break of Day: Greatest Hits”

  1. Tyson Cole September 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Your cartoons are great! King of social media cartoons though? I think that would have to be either Tim Whyatt or Dan Piraro. Their stuff is everywhere!

    • w101njf September 10, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Thank you, sir! And yes, trust me, I’m pretty much joking about that. I know there are probably MANY other colleagues of mine that get more shared and such on social media than me (in fact – I know there are). It’s kind of like if someone calls themselves The Sandwich King. They might be able to make a good sandwich, but king? Unless it’s from Steak and Shake, I doubt it.

      • Tyson Cole September 10, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

        Well then I support you as King of Social Media Cartoons AND the Sandwich King. I’ll take a pastrami on rye please.

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes September 10, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    For the love of God, DON’T mention Steak and Shake, even in the comments…that might be the only thing I miss about Florida.
    Nice round-up. I thought you’d been in the paper longer than that…I’m particularly fond of the Naked Penguin.

    • w101njf September 10, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      That Steak n’ Shake….always a hot – and delicious – topic. I won’t get into the shake part of it all.

  3. Bearman September 11, 2012 at 4:23 am #

    some of us like order

    • w101njf September 11, 2012 at 4:55 am #

      I like to order fries. That’s about all.

Leave a Reply

