Reflect stuff

27 Aug

I thought I’d reflect a bit on what I’ve been up to the past several weeks.  Sometimes reflections can be good; like looking in a mirror and noticing that unsightly spinach stuck between your teeth. Or that reflection of an object in the rear view mirror in your car that may appear closer than it is but turns out it’s not after it rams into your bumper .  Yes, reflections are – well – reflections.  So, read on with me if you would like, and come along as I reflect on my past week on the drawing board.

It has been a good week chock full of several jobs that I’ve enjoyed and am still working on.

One area that is starting to really speed up are my pet illustrations.  My Cartoon Your Pets is about to get some major PR pretty soon, so I’ve got my pen and ink ready for the hopeful rush (unless I just jinxed it by saying that).  You know, I really enjoy my pet illustrations and am so happy I opened it up and started doing this kind of work.  Hearing customers feedback puts a smile to my face and they seem to be something of value.  I like the fact that I can cut a check to shelters as well.  So, it has been a pretty decent week with some new customers – 0ne of which bought a new logo for her veterinary business.  I really am anxious to get more consistent with it (pet illustrating), which is the one area I haven’t figured out yet.  It’s kind of like car sales:  you have good and bad weeks.  So, I want a regular flow of customers, and I think I might be able to make that happen soon enough.  Just a little word-of-mouth and passing out cookies should do the trick.  Or, if I wanted it to be more like car sales, some balloons and a big giant inflatable ape out in front of my studio might help.

Above:  One of my newest pet illustrations, Whitley.  She doesn’t bite, so go ahead and try and pet your computer screen if you would like.  (Okay, that would be a little weird.)

Another area of work has been pitching a Break of Day book to publishers.  I know, I know…that’s not really work and who knows what will come out of it.  However, I – the optimistic dumbo – still believe it would be a great book.  In fact, I know it would.  So, if all else fails with actual publishers, I can promise I will self-publish a collection.  However, I’m much more fond of the more traditional route of getting someone else to make it perfect.  You’ve read these blogs.  I’m not exactly the best editor nor designer for Ramblings so if I could get a few more pairs of eyes to help with it (as it, publisher people) than I think it could be more perfection.  I would just have to compete with those pesky Fifty Shades of Grey books.  However, my promoting of it would be that if you toss my Break of Day book in mud, it would be just as dirty.

Look out soon for new MAD Magazine cartoons of mine appearing soon!  That was some other news of the past week.  There are several coming and I’ll let you know what issues they will be in as soon as I know more.  Anyhow, I worked on the pencils and am anxious to finish up the finals (hopefully) this week or next.  They are some new material (ala not the Toaster or My Wife the Turtle series of mine) so you get something different.  Same stupidity though, I must say.

And, of course, my regular work on Break of Day has been especially rewarding this past couple of weeks.  I’ve come up with some of my best material (well, in my opinion) and am anxious to get it out there in print and online.  I’m trying to come up with a Halloween Week this year (like, have the whole week before Halloween be Halloween related) so I have several lined up, but need more.  We’ll see if I can pull that off, but I can guarantee several.  No, I will not be passing out candy to you readers.

All this being said – I’m still trying to work like crazy to catch up financially from my car repairs that I so desperately wrote about in my series, Stalling Ass.  But, I’m pulling a few tricks out of the hat (is that the saying?) and getting some business taken care of.  Hoping more to come, but I can’t complain about the last several weeks.  By the way, I had an eBay auction to help out a bit and several people bought some originals.  “Thank you” for that (you know who you all are)!

Finally, with ALL of this, I’m working on another big project that so far is just up in my noggin, so I can’t really say much about it.  But, it’s been up in my noggin for years now.  And I’ve slowly pieced together a few elements over the years to get it started, but I’m hoping to really get it moving shortly.  More on that for another time.

So, those are my reflections.  If you want to really reflect on all that I wrote, hold this post up to a mirror and try reading it that way.

 

2 Responses to “Reflect stuff”

  1. Bearman August 28, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    I have the same problem as you with doing my own collection. I have no idea how to make it all look pretty.

    • w101njf August 28, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      I know. I can guess how – but I’m not the pro at that – publishers are. However, if it comes to self publishing, I’ll just put a disclaimer on my work that it is NOT pretty.

Leave a Reply

