Isaac + Republicans = Interesting

26 Aug

Some interesting things happen around these parts.  Sure, I’ve mentioned a few of them on occasion here on Ramblings.  Well, right now, it’s getting pretty interesting.  Like, really interesting.

I posted awhile back about the RNC (Republican National Convention, for those that don’t understand abbreviations) and how it might affect my abilities to get in and out of our place.  As it turns out, it has.  Luckily, I’ve been able to manage escaping this chaos, but it’s not easy.

Here, I documented my recent trip to the grocery store.

I’d better start with getting out of my place first.  It wasn’t simple.  You ever try driving through a cement barricade?  Well, me neither.  I thought about trying, but decided not to since I have a Mazda 3 and there were secret service agents, police and other government official.  They have practically every road blocked off.  However, with the help of an officer, I was able to hop on the interstate through a small opening in their one of many barricades.

So, I shop and everything, and trek it back home.

As I mentioned, all roads are closed, but like when leaving, I found a slither of an opening to get into my apartment complex.  And boy, was it popular with people that like to try and look serious.  You know, the hard-nosed ‘officials’, where you can’t joke about anything like saying, “Hey, have you heard that song LaBOMBa?”

Above:  Pulling up to the gate to enter my parking lot.  As you can see, I had to stop.  I’m wondering what would’ve happened if I didn’t stop, but I decided to play along.  You can see in the background Tropicana Field, where the Republicans are having a keg party today.

We get waved in as they lowered the blockade for us (that was nice of them).

Once in their little guarded area with a tent, we were told to get out of the car, pop the trunk and hood and turn the engine off.  So, again, I decided to follow orders, even though I have a hard time with that.

Above:  My car and the result of following orders.  

At this point in time, I could tell they were getting a bit skittish with me taking pictures, but oh well.  They didn’t confiscate the camera, so I won the picture taking battle….suckers.

They checked our ID’s (my wife was with me), asked where we lived (straight ahead, der) and other straight laced questions.  I should have told them I was the intermission entertainment for the Republican Convention and I was going to do a hi-wire juggling act, but didn’t want to complicate things so I just mentioned I wanted to get home with my groceries.

As suspicious as we are (I’m guessing it was the big box of Crunch Berries in the back seat) they brought out mirrors to search under the vehicle and a drug sniffing dog.

Above:  The dog that smelled and probably wanted to eat my Crunch Berries, but fortunately wasn’t allowed.

To their disappointment, they don’t find anything in our vehicle or us, so we get waved through and can make it home.

Listen, I’m not prude.  I don’t mind the extra security.  As I’ve always said, I get it.  It needs done.  It’s just not everyday where getting into my driveway is harder than smuggling out of Mexico.

What’s the interesting part of this blog (like any of my blogs are interesting)?

Tropical Storm Isaac is on the way as all this is going on.  Already, they cancelled plans for tomorrows RNC shenanigans.  Isaac is either going to blow left or right of us (east or west).  It seems to change paths every hour, so as I write this, they’re thinking it’s going more west, which is good for us.  But, we’ll see.  We already have bands of rain coming in, winds and the seagulls are getting restless, so there’s some stuff coming.  It may wash out all this RNC thing.  I’m guessing it wont, but still….it could.

Above:  Isaac is stopping by.  Well, at least part of it.

So, it’ll be an interesting couple of days here.  I’m hunkered in now.  My cat has food, so do I and I also have a working stove so I might be in luck.  However, if you don’t hear from me in several days, you might want to see what the path of Isaac ended up being.  If you see a St. Petersburg smack-dab of where it hits, that might be a sign of why I’m not posting.  Or, it could just be that I went out to shop and somehow I had an illegal box of Crunch Berries that did me in.

10 Responses to “Isaac + Republicans = Interesting”

  1. bearmancartoons August 26, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    You should brag to your wife and play up the fact that you were finally able to provide her with the ability to live in a gated community.

    • w101njf August 27, 2012 at 7:07 am #

      Good call. It either passes as that – or prison.

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes August 27, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    Crunchberries? At your age? OF COURSE you roused their suspicions….
    My first thought when I heard about the storm was,”Aw, damn…now Nate won’t get any fun protest signs outside his place!”
    Good luck this week!

    • w101njf August 27, 2012 at 7:07 am #

      I know. I should have stuck with Special K (the cereal, not the drug).

  3. Sandra August 27, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    Good heavens! Glad they didn’t take your crunch berries!

    • w101njf August 27, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      I KNOW! They do look like tasty little bombs.

      • Sandra August 27, 2012 at 7:19 am #

        🙂

  4. Sandra August 27, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    Reblogged this on Yakkergirl's Blog and commented:
    If you think your trip to the grocery store stinks, check out this fun blog post (the guy’s a cartoon artist in Flotida)

  5. Bridget August 27, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    ya gotta feel a little more secure now though, right? I mean, all joking aside, you couldn’t live closer to where these shenanigans are happening and these days, these types of gatherings can be seriously scary. but “labomba,” that was great! lol

    • w101njf August 27, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Yes, but it’s kind of like that prison inmate secure, you know.

Leave a Reply

