George Takei Shared Break of Day

5 Aug

It’s not everyday when you get Mr. Sulu himself from Star Trek sharing my cartoons on Facebook.  So when he did last Friday, I was pleasantly surprised.

I guess I feel bad for not being a big Trekkie now (sorry about that, George).  It’s truly humbling that he would share such a commodity as my material to his 2,386, 262 Facebook followers.

I’ve had a good time reading the comments and got a couple of new fans from the exposure.  Awesome (thanks, new fans).  Now, if I can just get Eminem, Johnny Depp and that dolphin from Flipper to hop on board and share some Break of Day comics, I could start shooing off paparazzi.

So, what does such a share do for a comic?

Well, typically I get several “likes” and so-forth when I post my work up.  However, when they get exposed to the masses, that number can go up just a little bit.

Here’s a look at the comic from Friday, two hours later and then 48 hours later (right now).

Hope you enjoyed this cartoon as much as others.

Now, I need to go brush up on my Star Trek.

Above:  It was awhile until I actually realized it was shared, so here’s after about an hour.

Above: Aaaaand two hours.

Above:  Holy cow!  All the likes, shares and comments.  Never have I saw such a thing.  Well, except on Garfield’s Facebook.

 

 

11 Responses to “George Takei Shared Break of Day”

  1. gardenfreshtomatoes August 5, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    WooHoo! The President of the Internet knows your stuff!
    George’s post-trek career is much more entertaining, so don’t go crazy. You either like Star Trek, or you don’t.

    • w101njf August 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Actually you’re totally right. I like him on Howard Stern the most!

  2. bearmancartoons August 5, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Nice…did he share your post or the cartoon? If just the cartoon did he at least give you a link?

    • w101njf August 5, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Just the comic and unfortunately no link. I have my info on the comic but it’s not as effective as a link would’ve been. Oh well….

      • bearmancartoons August 5, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        DAMN HIM…doesn’t he know to provide link love.

  3. w101njf August 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    I know….I know. Now people that might want to be fans have to struggle to read the link. Can’t have it all I guess.

  4. Jay August 5, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Hello there! My name is Jay and I work with Mr. Takei . If you’ve some more cartoons you’d like Jhim to share, please send them his way! You can email them to me at the above email. On behalf of George, thanks for the laughs!

    • w101njf August 6, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      I’ll do that, Jay! Thanks!

  5. Sandra August 6, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    I was thrilled to see it there, I knew the drawing style looked familiar, but I didn’t see the signature until just now! CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012: A career retrocspect « Nate's Ramblings - December 3, 2012

    […] Everything is kinda at a stand still.  One cool thing was George Takei from Star Trek shared one of my comics on his Facebook page in front of his 3 million plus fans.  It was pretty awesome.  What did it do?  Well, not much.  It’s not like I get royalties each time someone re-post it.  But, being exposed to those kind of numbers is a nice treat.  I wrote all about it HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

