I Think I’m Being Barricaded In

26 Jul

My political choice put aside, I think I’m being barricaded in by this bloody Republican National Convention (RNC) coming to the area this August.

The big event for them is in Tampa, however, right in my front yard (seriously) in St. Petersburg is where they’re having their “Kick-Off Party” and my whole side of town is being blocked from foot traffic, car traffic and anything to do with traffic (except Republicans, of course).  20,000 Repulicans are taking over the neighborhood.  Who needs an election?  It looks like they’re already going to beat me to my parking space.  I’d say they won.

Okay, listen, Democrats would have the same kind of setup.  I get it.  And trust me, I guess this is supposed to bring in a lot of revenue and promotion for the area.  Can’t blame a mayor for wanting all this here.  But, none of that matters when I don’t know if I’ll be able to leave – or get home – whatever comes first.

Above:  The “Event Zone”.  Looks like someone peed on it. 

I’m guessing they wouldn’t do that to residents (not let them get home).  BUT, there’s a new map out that show all the lane blockage and the big “no-no’s” areas.

Above:  Where regulars can’t roam.

You see that big misshaped area right in the middle?  Okay, that’s my home.

If you read the fine print on this, it states pedestrian restriction.  How does one not become a pedestrian?  I need to look into that.

They have the FBI task force, U.S. Secret Service and police department putting on a “meeting” for residents of the area this evening.  Rumors floating around Facebook is there is going to be a mandatory ‘Do Not Show Your Face In These Parts’ restriction going up for us average Joe’s, but I’m not too sure.  I think I’m going to pop into this meeting and find out.

I’m not that naive.  I would highly doubt there’s no plan in place for us saps in the area, but still, this looks like a five day nightmare that I’m not looking forward to.  If they stop me from walking to get my paper and coffee in the morning, I’m gonna….I’m gonna….well, do nothing.  What can I do?  I’m afraid to even complain about it on here in fear of the FBI looking into why I’m blogging about getting home.

It will be interesting.  And like I said, this could have easily been a democrat convention as well.  But, despite the party, I would rather them all just go to Chuck-E-Cheese’s.

I’ll update you all on this later.

10 Responses to “I Think I’m Being Barricaded In”

  1. Mary Louise Eklund July 26, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Worse than the Super Bowl when we lived on Harbor Island and went to sleep to the Snoop Dog concert just across the way.

    • w101njf July 26, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Snoop Dogg isn’t exactly soothing as say, Tupac. Yea, I wouldn’t enjoy that much!

      • Mary Louise Eklund July 26, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

        Oh we laughed it was fun to live downtown and see what was going on despite the traffic snarls to end traffic snarls.

  2. bearmancartoons July 26, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    You need to set up a Draw your Pets booth.

    • bearmancartoons July 26, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Or at least hang a huge banner with your URL out the window

      • w101njf July 26, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

        LOL. I wonder what the Secret Service would do if I hung my banner by the front of Tropicana Field (where it is)? Good idea! I think I’ll do that. God knows republicans have plenty of money to spend on their pets.

  3. Vee July 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Let us know if you get confined to quarters. Maybe we can fax you a few doughnuts.

    • w101njf July 27, 2012 at 6:05 am #

      Good luck getting fresh donuts past security! Thanks though.

  4. gardenfreshtomatoes July 27, 2012 at 5:14 am #

    Ugh…I feel for anyone who lives near one of these things.
    On the flip side, crowd watching out your windows – provided they let you into your house – could be source material for some pretty funny stuff.
    Just trying to be positive….

    • w101njf July 27, 2012 at 6:06 am #

      Good call. I’m guessing some of the protestors will be golden material to base things off! And yes, that is if I can be here!

Leave a Reply

