Mobsters and a Hamster

12 Jun

Aah, ladies and gentlemen, it’s time for another installment of – your guessed it – similarities on the Funny Pages!

This happens from time to time.  I’ll get my local newspaper, look up my award-winning cartoon Break of Day (what awards we’re not too sure of), and behold – my neighboring cartoon chose the same subject as me.  Of course, it’s all by coincidence.  We don’t plan ahead.  And when things fall together on certain days, is it just natures way of telling us all in the Funny Pages that we should be thinking of the given topic?  If so, that’s pretty lame of nature because today’s topics in the Funnies was mobsters.  OH – and a hamster.  Why couldn’t it have be Stridex Pads or something with more substance?

Above:  Now this would have made for an interesting conversation piece after reading Mary Worth.

Well, as dull and boring as mobsters and hamsters are (okay, not all the time), this was the turn of events for today.  Two similar comics.  Wait, I mentioned that already, right?

Hey, this has happened before.  Below are several of my other installments of these…..happenings.  (If this were the 60’s, I’d call them Love Ins.)

Above:  Back in the 60’s, this is what people did when they read the newspaper and saw two comics with similar topics.

So, without further ado, here is today’s comics that were in the paper.  Side-by-side.  You’ll see the mobster similarities, but will you see the hamster?  (Actually, the hamster is pretty easy to spot.)

Above:  One of these comics has a hamster involved.  Can you find it?

And since we’re on topic about comics, why don’t we get off it for a minute and play another ‘Can You Spot It?’ game.  Tonight on NBC is America’s Got Talent (I believe it’s on at 8 PM EST).  Where are they?  Well, right here in St. Petersburg, Florida.  And guess what?  No, I didn’t go up there and draw a cartoon.  I thought about it, but realized I probably would have better luck if I burned a cartoon while juggling on a high-wire, so I opted out.  However, I am in the audience.

This is show two of – well – two, from St. Petersburg.  Show one, they kept showing on television images of Tampa (right across the bay from us) and not saying a word about St. Pete.  But, I swear to you, they were here only several blocks away from my studio.  And our mayor got on them this time about not mentioning our jewel of a town and not showing images, so I’m quite certain they’ll show more of St. Petersburg and hopefully mention it.  Our poor city gets no respect sometimes.  I bet this flaw wouldn’t have happened on Cops.

So, look for me.  I’m about four seats behind Howie.  Just look for the long nose (it’s easy to find) and grey shirt.  And you if you can spot me in the below picture (I AM in it), you might have an easier time tonight. (Hint:  A letter is covering half my face.)

Above:  This does kind of tie in with the rest of the blog post, because this was clipped out of the newspaper like the cartoons.  See, we know how to wrap things up around here!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Mobsters and a Hamster”

  1. bearmancartoons June 12, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    They cut your head off

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes June 13, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    I love ya’, kid, but not enough to put up with an hour of that show….
    What’s with all the Tampa-Love, anyway? St. Pete is a a much prettier town….

    • w101njf June 13, 2012 at 4:35 am #

      Last nights show was all about Tampa – again! I don’t know why. I’m guessing it’s because Tampa is bigger, but yes – St. Pete is MUCH better (and I’m not being bias). I’m sure our mayor is a bit, well, pissed.

Leave a Reply

