Viral R’ Us

9 Jun

You know how sometimes you’ll get forwarded funny cartoons to your inbox from friends?  Or you’ll see them posted up on Facebook?  Ever wonder how they ended up there?  I guess they are considered ‘Viral Comics’ when they make the rounds into the thousands of shares and post.  Well, I always wanted one of mine to do that.  As of yet, it hasn’t happened.  Until yesterday….

Yesterday, I might have achieved that.  Although, that being said, who really knows for certain?  All I know is I noticed hundreds of shares on Facebook and re-post by some people I don’t know (including some very professional cartoonist).  Made me feel all tingly inside.  It made the rounds.

But is it viral?

I’m still not certain.  I could go see who shared it, and notice that when they shared it hundreds of people from their page shared it and so on and so on.  It’s like a big pyramid scheme, except without annoying your friends to sign up with money.

Is it going to be one of those that ends up in the FUNNY inbox for years to come?  After all – it’s not a Far Side cartoon; it’s Break of Day.  But, I am quite content with it even not being Gary Larson.  I like it.  I tend to do that with my work.

This made me think of something else:  I wonder how many of my newspaper comics become viral.  Or is that the word from it when a comic gets repeatedly cut out from newspapers from thousands?  Is that going viral?  If it is, there’s no way of knowing.  I don’t get a quarterly report from the newspapers on how many were cut out each day.

Anyway, I’m going to keep riding this train with this particular comic.  Whore it out, some might say.  Please, feel free to grab this image, re-post it, share it, take it to dinner – anything.  I’m going to try to get this sucker emailed to me someday, unbeknownst from the sender that I created it.  That would freak me out.

I think it’s important this day and age to get a viral comic.  Since a viral video on YouTube is a stretch for my work, a regular cartoon is probably my best bet.  It might just add, I don’t know – buzz – to Break of Day.  I could use that as I STILL try to dominate the comic pages, regardless of the weakening newspaper business (that’s right, Ziggy).

So, below is yesterday’s ‘Almost-Viral-if-it-isn’t-Already’ comic.  Abduct it and take it into the great beyond.  We’ll see if, like a boomerang, it ends up back my way.

Above:  How viral can this cartoon get?  When Tupac releases this on his fan page, I’ll know it was successful.

7 Responses to “Viral R’ Us”

  1. bearmancartoons June 9, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Congrats. My only “viralness” is when 50 people see it.

    • w101njf June 9, 2012 at 8:18 am #

      I think you get a lot more viral stuff than you think! I see your Google + and 100’s of comments.

      • bearmancartoons June 10, 2012 at 7:16 am #

        Yes but remember like my blog half are from me.

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes June 9, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    That’s great.
    I’m sending it to my son…

  3. littlegreybox June 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    haha I like it :>

Leave a Reply

