SPCA Presentation

30 May

Are you in the Tampa Bay area this weekend?  “No”, you say.  Well, buy some train tickets and get down to the SPCA Tampa Bay.  I’ll be having a presentation and a ‘soft’ opening for my Cartoon Your Pets partnership with the SPCA and other shelters from 2-4.  $25 a ticket (and you get a cat seminar).  What are you waiting for?  See you there!

Okay…I know gosh-darn well (notice how I refrain from cursing so I’m not that mad) that you will probably not be attending.  However, I thought it would be a good chance to display some of the work on Nate Ramblings to show what exactly I’m doing.

This summer, I’m hoping to be a quite a few events.  “Doing what?” you’re probably asking yourself (and I swear that is the last time I’ll put words in your mouth).  My illustrations/cartoons of pets.  Tons of pets.  And it’s all for a great cause along with being my newest side business.

I’ve written about it all before, so I thought I would just gently drop in some examples of my work and if you – or someone you know – would be interested, you’ll have all the examples and info you need.  I’m guessing most of my work will be generated through the store (yes, I have stuff in a store) but online orders are always welcome.  You don’t have to live around here.  I, like hardly anyone else, still uses the postal system, so I can ship.  I know how.

So, have a look!

Here are some recent pets I’ve ‘cartooned’.  I’ve coined them as cartooning your pets, however, I tend to do a more realistic approach to them.  I like the more realistic look, but since everyone around here knows me as a cartoonist, I like to keep that label involved in it.  Plus, I do the same process of creating these as my cartoons (dip pen, digitally coloring and/or watercolors) so it’s all in the same ballpark.  When I first went to launch, I thought of keeping a more cartoon style, but I really want people to get a quality product and I find my realistic approach worth the price and it has quality that I would expect for the price.  I am offering a Custom Cartoon option where your pet WOULD be a cartoon, but judging from previous promotions, I don’t think there will be much of a market for that.  But, I do offer it still.

Alright, enough of my blabbing.  Here are some examples.  And if you haven’t checked out the website yet, it’s HERE.

Above:  Meet Bee.  A friend of ours cat.  From what I hear, Bee loves this (it hasn’t been scratched off the wall yet.)

Above:  Ursa the Destoyer.  AKA – my dog, Ursa.

Above:  Poodle?  Possibly.

This is officially all getting started probably in July when they’re putting out a press release and we’re having a bigger opening.  However, I’m hoping this event this weekend and me dipping my toes in promoting it will get the ball rolling this month.  I already have several more lined up soon, so I’m excited about where it’s going.

Dog days of summer for sure.  (And cats, hamsters, buffalo, etc. – whatever comes my way.)

2 Responses to “SPCA Presentation”

  1. bearmancartoons May 31, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    Looking great. though I liked the cartoony ones too.

    • w101njf May 31, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Thank you, sir. I always let customers they have a choice, so if someone DOES want a more cartoony-version (like the wider, white eyes) then it’s no problem.

Leave a Reply

