The Animals are Coming

22 May

I don’t like to just talk shop on this blog.  I know that any readers that I do have probably would rather read a variety of things and truthfully I enjoy writing more about a variety of things.  As promised several weeks ago, I’m going to attempt to at least keep some material on here regularly.  But, bear with me for today, as I wanted to pitch an idea out there and get any thoughts about it. I’m not Reader’s Digest where I have a broad variety of reading material.  Sorry about that.

I had a fantastic meeting with the SPCA a little over a week ago where I met with several directors and such.  Anyhow, put it to you this way, there’s a lot of things happening around Tampa Bay with my work concerning animals and pets.  I’m excitedly working with them and am anxious to donate hopefully a lot of money toward SPCA and other shelters now and from here on out with benefits from my illustrations/cartoons.  And again, call me a hippie, but I am a big fan of helping animals.

One of the projects to go along with such things like my new website, www.cartoonyourpets.com, is a book.  I would produce a music video, but I can’t sing or dance.

I want to do a book full of my animal cartoons from my syndicated work.  I’m thinking 130 pages or so – full color – maybe a couple of hundred cartoons and some bonus material, like my comments on certain things and so-forth.  Anyhow, to do a project like this takes money right away.  Sure, I could do pre-orders and things, but my issue is I don’t have much of a social media platform or way of promoting it online – yet.  My sales with SPCA are done through being there, live and in person, and also at stores and events, which I already have lined up.  So, like every other cartoonist on the face of this earth, I’m thinking about doing this through KICKSTARTER.

Here’s my deal though:  I don’t like asking people for money.  I don’t like begging and pleading for support.  I’ve tried it before, and with my lack of a big social media outlet and website, I’m not sure it will happen this way.  I can only hope that if I do go this route, people will pitch in for it because of the SPCA factor (it will be the norm of 20% of sales donated to them) but I’m not sure how they’ll even see it or know about it.  I know I can sell the books once I get them because I’ll be at events and things.  I’m guessing hardly any sales would be done through online or my website.  But, like I mentioned, it would take getting the book done first, which would have to be funded – first.  And obviously it’s not just asking for money.  People pledging toward it would get something – probably the book and other goodies I haven’t figured out yet.  (If you’re not too sure how Kickstarter works, CLICK HERE.)

And I’m in the bad because I’ve yet to help support a Kickstarter project myself (holding head down in shame), so it’s hard for me to ask others to do it for me.  My reason for not doing so is mostly lack of funds and because I have several friends in the community and online that have put out books of their own out that I STILL haven’t yet bought but need to before I do anything else.  (You know who you are.  Trust me – I want your book!  I am slowly getting there once I pay off my laundry bill.)  And did I mention I still have a 1 gig computer?  Gonna have to upgrade soon.  Cha-ching.

So, any thoughts?  Any of you use Kickstarter and have it fail miserably?  Or have you had a successful run with it?  Maybe Kickstarter kicked you?

Anyhow, this is what I’m thinking about today.  I have been for awhile.  And there will definitely be a book out (actually, several, because I want to have complete Break of Day books as well with ALL my cartoons).  Hopefully sooner than later though with the summer coming up and events just around the corner.  It just boils down to money.  And I don’t like failing at things, and I’m afraid I couldn’t generate a lot of buzz with a Kickstarter for this.  I tried an Ebay auction last month where I practically gave away originals to help support a shelter with a 100% donations going to them and it brought in less than $20, so I’m not sure how well this would work.

I’ll keep you updated, and I promise not to talk shop on my next post.  Maybe I can talk about the weather?  That’s always a fascinating subject.  Yes, the weather.

4 Responses to “The Animals are Coming”

  1. bearmancartoons May 22, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Are you allowed to advertise the fact that you have a kickstarter campaign on go.comics?

    • w101njf May 23, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      I’ll definitely pitch it to them to announce it or something, and I’m pretty sure they would. Not sure it would be enough to take me over the top – but you never know.

  2. Sandra May 23, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    Good luck! Just remember, you are talented, people appreciate your work, and you can do this. . . Good luck!!!

    • w101njf May 23, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      Thank you, Sandra! I appreciate it. I’ll keep updates on here.

Leave a Reply

