Excuses, Excuses

20 Feb

I know – I’m a horrible blogger.

No, really, I am.

I can’t keep it updated on a regular basis, rarely have anything relevant to add, I have award-winning typos and I tend to punish the readers with cheapened post that I hurry up and write.  Bad?  Sure is.  But, I guess I’m not trying to qualify myself as a ‘blogger’ so much as an inconsistent #$%@.  (In cartooning language, the #$%@ can be translated to your favorite raunchy adjective.)

Truth be told:  Been busy.

This is the year of new markets for Fakes World Headquarters (or Nate Fakes – whatever you want to call it).  Along with greeting cards, magazine cartoons and syndicated work – I’m expanding into also being coined as an illustrator.  Vast expansion and evolving with the market is important, I’ve found out.  Remember Cap’n Crunch?  It had to eventually build into Peanut Butter Crunch, Crunch Berries and now even a Coca Crunch.  Just to keep up.  Cartooning is like Cap’n Crunch.  It stays crunchy in milk.

Above:  A disillusioned cap’n thinking adding milk will enhance a bland cereal.  Sorry, Cap’n, but you’ll have to do better than that.

There are a lot of illustration jobs out there (I’ve finally figured out after 32 years).  Lucrative market?  Well, sure.  But the competition is fierce.  However, after trying to land into syndication and everything else that everyone says is “hopeless”, I’m ready for some friendly competition.  Not like I haven’t heard a couple of “no’s” in my lifetime – or rejection letters.  I can take the heat – even if I’m not in a kitchen.  (I have no clue what I’m trying to say right there or through any of this.)

So, listen, I’ll leave it at that for now.  That’s my excuse – busy.  Bad one, I know.  However, I’m going to try to muster up the time and strength to write more of – well – something.  And like any good excuse, I’m going to try and get better an not having it anymore.

I do like writing.

And looking back at previous post, a few of them seem really crappy or whiny.  I don’t like that.  If I’m going to write like that, I might as well just post pictures of chimpanzees.  Chimpanzees are funny.  Here, I’ll do it right now.

Above:  They’re all going to laugh at you!  They’re all going to laugh at you!

So, when I write on here, I want to take my dear time.  You know, nothing quick just so that I can fit a blog in.  I don’t think that’s worth it for you or me.  I’m going to avoid that.  And I’m not going to lie – this post here – the one you’re reading – yea, I’m rushing this.  I haven’t thought it out or anything.  But, I did want to put up a quick explanation of what’s happening.  Hence a quick blog post.

Everybody on earth uses the excuse I’m using this evening:  busy.  I don’t know how many times I read that or hear it on a regular basis.  But, I can’t think of a clever name for busy so I guess I’ll go with it.  I could say something like ‘preoccupied’ or ‘time consumed’, but they don’t have the tone I’m looking for.  ‘Busy’ is kinda straight and to the point, you know.  Plus, it rhymes with ‘fizzy’ which is good when you’re drinking pop.

So, that’s my post.

But, you know what they say:  No reading is better than reading.

6 Responses to “Excuses, Excuses”

  1. adultsatires February 20, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I don’t see it as an excuse at all! In fact, I give people kudo that do not let their blogs consume their lives to the point nothing gets done in the real world.

    Just write how and what you want, there’s readers for every genre and style of blog. 🙂

    • w101njf February 20, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      I guess I called it an ‘excuse’ because I kind of opened a can of worms by posting consistently on here – but then I lagged again.

      Yes, I agree though. I like writing, but when it was a ‘regular posting’ I got bored. So now it’s sporadic. I hope my sporadic crowd enjoys!

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes February 21, 2012 at 5:08 am #

    You write it, I’ll read it. Whenever you post it…
    It’s great that you’ve found new revenue streams for your work – so much more fulfilling than, “You want fries with that?” I, for one, would be fascinated to hear more about those, if you find the time to write about them.

    • w101njf February 21, 2012 at 8:18 am #

      That works for me! I appreciate it.

      And one thing I do plan on writing about (because – well – I enjoy doing so) is my different projects as they come together. I’ve got a lot of new territory being covered so far this year so I’ll fill you in!

  3. Bearman February 21, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Yes but Crunch berries was the only one that ever tasted good. Though the roof of my mouth would say otherwise.

    • w101njf February 21, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Oh my gosh – they DO hurt to eat! I swear though, yes, Crunch Berries are worth the pain. Peanut Butter Crunch is – eh – so-so. Regular though? I’m surprised they sold at all. Sooo bland.

Leave a Reply

