Miss World Peace

29 Jan

I actually went to a Miss Teen USA pageant when I was sixteen.

Of course, at that age, my agenda WASN’T about the actual competition, but the small chance of maybe getting one of the hot girls to like me.  Just maybe – MAYBE – they would, right?

Okay, not at all.  I had no game at that age.  I was actually kind of geeky.  Thinking back, I don’t think I really said more than two words to any of them.  Way to NOT score.

Anyhow…

Those girls are…interesting.

I tell you what, that smile they have – for most – false.  It’s not very real.  It’s a cat fight backstage.  When they lost, they lost – and were angry.

I saw the devastation after the pageant was over.  There were a few hugs, but the nails were out.  The tension was in the air.  You could just sense that the losers were not happy with the winner.  They wanted it, naturally, but there was some bitterness.  Luckily, there were no high-heels being plowed into the back of any perms on the models heads.  It felt like it might get to that point, but instead it was just boiled up disappointment mostly in the forms of tears.  Mascara ran down the faces transforming many of the girls from chic to chaos.  Kind of reminded me of what the set on The Walking Dead would look like.

Vicious young things.

I’m sure many of them are nice girls that really care about things, but I’m guessing a lot of them are spoiled pretty gals that think they’re more “entitled” than others.  That was the vibe I got.

So, that was the inspiration to today’s cartoon.

If you’re Miss America, fist of all, thanks for reading my blog!  No, really, it’s an honor.  But also, I’m not saying you’re a petty thing, spoiled, entitled, etc.  But, a lot of your colleagues are.  Sorry to say that, but they are.  Now, congrats on winning!  Go spread some of that world peace.

4 Responses to “Miss World Peace”

  1. bearman January 30, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    You have “game” now??

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes February 10, 2012 at 4:34 am #

    Ha! You got it figured out, for sure.
    I was actually *in* a stupid Miss Something Pagent as a senior in HS – SO not my style, but, scholarship money,ya know? Most of us were small-town farm-girl types who wore our foofy late-80’s prom dresses for the “Eveningwear” part. The girl who won was a longtime Pro, with sequins and beads…and she didn’t say two words to the rest of us hicks the whole weekend. Just walked around with exactly that, “I’m pretty, I’m entitled, go play with your dolls, little girls” attitude.
    One of the dumbest wastes of time, ever…

    • w101njf February 10, 2012 at 5:03 am #

      Yea, I really caught on quick after being backstage at one of these. Like I mention, I know it’s not EVERY girl there, but it seemed as though the majority of them really had their noses high in the air.

Leave a Reply

