The Week of Cartoons November 21st thru November 27th

1 Dec

First off, let me be the first one to apologize for not posting up The Week of Cartoons on its usual day, Monday.  (Actually, I would be the first to apologize for this considering I’m the only guy that writes on here.)  Yes, there are excuses after excuses, and you know what – I’ll use em’!

My stinking (well, it really does smell like an old Big Mac from time to time) laptop had a mishap.  The poor diluted power cord didn’t quite make it thru the weekend.  The sucker had it coming (loose wire) and it finally became deceased right in front of my eyes – and my screen.

Me, being the quick thinker that I am, should have taken care of this issue months ago, however, I waited until it went kerpunk and thus I was left with a useless laptop.

I ordered – in fact – EXPRESSED ordered a new cord last Friday.  I expected it in 1 or 2 days, but it just arrived this afternoon.  I had to order it in, because the bastards (not ALL of them, but just the price guy) at Best Buy wanted $85 for one.  I bought a new one off Amazon for .95 cents and ten bucks shipping (that’s that express cost building into it all).  A $85 power cord had better make me nachos and scratch my back for that amount.  I couldn’t understand the up-charge?  Sorry, Best Buy, you must think I’m really stupid.  You (Best Buy) probably suckered me into buying that $13.99 Bryan Adams CD back in the early 90’s too, didn’t you?

Alas thou, I am up and running.  The Ramblings may continue on…

Okay, on with the comics.

November 21st Comic

When I drew this, I actually Googled ‘pony’.  To my surprise, they look just like a horse.  I figured there had to be a difference.  Nowhere could I find one.  They all look the same.  Seriously!  No, really….

Above:  A picture of a horse

Above:  A picture of a pony

Above:  Mr. Ed.  Now THERE’S something different!

I’m sure there is some deep-rooted difference that only 4H and Farmer Bob know about, but to my eyes, I basically drew a horse and I guess I fooled everyone, because it seemed as though this gag went over well with my audience.  Whew!  That wouldn’t work too well if I was trying to draw a frog but drew a tadpole instead.

November 22nd Comic

When I was in college taking art courses, there were the ‘troubled artist’ that tried to play this card.  Not that many of them, but I noticed a few.  Some wore dark clothing – some NO clothing.  Always drawing their pent-up frustrations out on the canvas with smashing results (no, really…a lot of times they’d get frustrated and smash their work).  It wasn’t that common, but the troubled artist exist.

I decided to be original and coin myself as The Frustrated Cartoonist years ago.  Because, that’s what I am more than anything – frustrated.

I’ve been known to bite a fingernail or two in my days, but luckily I’ve managed to keep my ears.  I’ve often thought about offing my nose though a bit, because it’s kind of long.

That’s what’s cool about being frustrated opposed to being troubled.  When I’m frustrated, I usually just throw things and jump in traffic.  When your troubled, you cut off body parts.  Yikes.  I sure wouldn’t want to be troubled.

I’ll explain many of my frustrations down the line.  There are actually a few good post in this blog if you dig around, but there’s more to come as well.  In other words, more quality(less)  reading on the way!

November 23rd Comic

This gag went over well with some – not well with others.  Then I received comments about how a buck shot is in pieces and bla, bla, bla.  Listen – I’m a cartoonist.  Do I research my material?  Well, sorta.  Not in length though.  When I picture a hunter and a bullet and a duck – this was the funny image that appeared.  Why did it appear?  I don’t know.  I can’t answer those kind of questions (hence, why I’m a cartoonist).  I just draw things.

It’s frustrating when….okay, wait a minute.  I’d better finish typing the rest of The Week of Cartoons before I get frustrated.  I’d hate to throw my recently fixed computer.

November 24th Comic

I was not happy with the end result of my Thanksgiving cartoon.  I actually did kind of muck this up a little.  Well, kind of.  Let me explain (badly)….

I get the fact that these are chickens in the cartoon, and for Thanksgiving, typically people eat turkey.  And that’s where I went wrong.

The whole time leading up to this posting, I never thought twice about that.  Just like horses and ponies, I was somehow subconsciously thinking chickens and turkeys were one of the same.  Um…NO.  Now, these two birds are different, so why did I make a joke about chickens?

That, I cannot explain.

If I had the chance to revise it, I would take out the whole ‘Thanksgiving’ part of it, and it would’ve been a lot better.  Then I wouldn’t have to tie in turkeys at all.  Whalla!

But…I didn’t (sigh).

Oh well.  Next year I’ll really throw everyone off and have canned cranberry sauce superimposed as creamy vegetables.

November 25th Comic

I have Direct TV.  Satellite, for those of you who don’t know.

I’d have to say that 95% of the channels I get – I don’t watch. (Ever hear of OWN?  Boy, I wish I hadn’t.)

Still, they always want me to ‘upgrade’.  Premium this, premium that.  Honestly, I wouldn’t be too shocked if this were a channel.  If it were, it couldn’t be near as exciting as a Watching Water Boil Pay-Per-View.

November 26th Comic

Who loves the 80’s?  Anyone?  Anyone?

Who knows the 80’s?  Anyone?  Anyone?

I liked this cartoon, but I was really crossing my fingers that I had enough “older” (or younger, that just knew what the hell I was talking about) that would get this reference.  Turns out – I think I did!  (Including myself.  I was a kid in the 80’s.  Smurf cartoons, He-Man and all.)

Members Only was a very popular jacket in the 80’s.  Did you have to be a member to get one?  No.  But, you were hip-to-be-square if you acted like a member, I think.

Anyhow, here’s the culprit.

Above:  The straight jacket style popular amongst troubled artist

Above:  You could have been a member.  Loser.

I recently checked online to see if Members Only STILL made jackets for – well – members only.  And what did I find?  Well, it was interesting.  You can STILL buy them, but I couldn’t find the actual company.  There is a members only “Coming Soon” website being built, but beyond that, you got me.  And honestly, I get bored easily so I really didn’t take too much time researching any of this.

November 27th Comic

My friends and I growing up used to go to our local mall quite a bit.  Not to shop – but play on the escalators.

One of our favorite pastimes was running up the down escalators as fast as we could.  The kid that made it to top would push the other kids down.  It was like King of the Hill – but deadly.  Luckily, I don’t believe we had any unfortunate untied shoestring incidents the whole time growing up.  Although, there was a child down our block missing his toe.   Escalator incident?  Maybe.  But, I’m guessing he was a troubled artist.

That wraps up today’s The Week of Cartoons.  It’s only four fashionably days late.  So, be expecting ANOTHER one this upcoming Monday (that soon?).

And, don’t forget, if you just love your little Facebook (like we know you do), you can catch all the updates and stupidity on our Break of Day page.  Yes, it’s chock full of such useless information that you might switch back to MySpace.  Just click the box below!

6 Responses to “The Week of Cartoons November 21st thru November 27th”

  1. Dennis Fakes December 2, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Gee, Nate, I didn’t know about the escalators back when. Thought the ‘toon great though.

    • w101njf December 2, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      I would’ve filled you in, but then my mall days probably would have been over.

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes December 2, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Got a kick out of the Members Only yellowjackets… I’m still searching for the bastard who stole mine in Junior High…

    • w101njf December 2, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      I guess someone really wanted to be a member? Keep looking!

  3. bearman December 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    “I ordered – in fact – EXPRESSED ordered a new chord last Friday. I expected it in 1 or 2 days, but it just arrived this afternoon.”

    Maybe you should have ordered a “cord” instead of a “chord”

    • Nate Fakes December 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      I was wondering why it was in tone

Leave a Reply

